Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
How would you stitch this? >

How would you stitch this?

How would you stitch this?

Old 01-29-2014, 06:35 PM

Default How would you stitch this?

Finishing up my first quilt after a long hiatus from sewing. I was a beginner before, still am, but I'm getting better with every stitch... hehe.

Anyway, I'd love some thoughts on ways I could finish this quilt. I'm attaching a few shots. It's actually a baby doll quilt, for my daughter's 'babies' cradle. Should measure 16" when finished. The little 'tiles' are 1"h x 3" or 4"w. I haven't really given it a lot of thought yet, but wanted to see if anyone wanted to weigh in with some ideas. I do not know how to do FMQ (although I'm dying to learn!!) yet, so needs to be some simple stitching. Maybe I should just do 'stitch in the ditch' along top/bottom of each row? I will back it with some light blue flannel I have laying around. Not sure what kind of binding I want to do yet.

Another question: can anyone recommend a backing that would be really super soft and bendable? I don't when they are really stiff and especially because this is a smaller piece made for little hands, I want it to be easy to bend, fold, play with.

Thanks for your input!!

Rachel
Attached Thumbnails photo-1.jpg   photo-2.jpg  
Old 01-29-2014, 07:16 PM

Minky or flannel is very soft for the backing. Since the strips are narrow if you do stitch in the ditch I would skip rows and not do each one. You could do a big X from corner to corner and then a + from top to bottom and left to right (which I could draw it for you) it would sort of look like a lined star.
Old 01-29-2014, 07:17 PM

Your little quilt looks very sweet, soft pastel colors. Maybe for the backing use a soft flannel? As for stitching, something non-demanding. I could envision curving lines, overlapping like figure eights, in long vertical rows, giving a "beaded curtain" look.
Old 01-30-2014, 06:12 AM