Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
I need help....please >

I need help....please

I need help....please

Old 12-09-2013, 08:04 AM

Smile I need help....please

I am fairly new to quilting and have never made a quilt without a pattern. My nephew has asked me to make him a quilt with a western theme. I found the perfect panel which is 20W by 22L but no what do I do. I'd like to make a queen sized quilt but I'm not sure where to begin. I read here that many of you draft your own patterns and I tried but it seems I'm only wasting fabric by cutting it and trying to put it together. I would appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks
Old 12-09-2013, 08:16 AM
Power Poster

I would first add sashing to the center panel to make it 24 1/2 by 24 1/2. This will allow you to find a 12 1/2 inch block pattern you like and make enough of the blocks to surround and sew to the center panel.
Old 12-09-2013, 08:38 AM
Power Poster

If you are new to quilting, I worry about doing such a large quilt. A standard queen size batting is 90" x 108". That means you need to add approximately 35" to each side of the panel and 43" to both the top and the bottom. If you add a 3" border to the panel, the remaining space can easily be filled with 8" finish blocks. Being a western theme, I would go with what is called the rail fence. I had a freebie pattern but I can't seem to find it. It was called Rodeo ?. Will PM you if I find it.
Old 12-09-2013, 10:36 AM

Originally Posted by ManiacQuilter2 View Post
If you are new to quilting, I worry about doing such a large quilt. A standard queen size batting is 90" x 108". That means you need to add approximately 35" to each side of the panel and 43" to both the top and the bottom. If you add a 3" border to the panel, the remaining space can easily be filled with 8" finish blocks. Being a western theme, I would go with what is called the rail fence. I had a freebie pattern but I can't seem to find it. It was called Rodeo ?. Will PM you if I find it.