Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Janome 6600 1/4 inch foot

  1. #1
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    I got a 6600 the end of August and have just started using it. I have made 3 blocks with the 1/4 in foot and they are coming up about 1/8 inch short. Can you move the needle to the right to get a scant 1/4 inch. I think that would solve the problem.

  2. #2
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,879
    Quote Originally Posted by skowron5
    I got a 6600 the end of August and have just started using it. I have made 3 blocks with the 1/4 in foot and they are coming up about 1/8 inch short. Can you move the needle to the right to get a scant 1/4 inch. I think that would solve the problem.
    Yes move the needle, and find the position that will give you the results you want.

    I find it best to not judge on one seam ... sew together three 1-1/2" strips and measure to see if it equals 3-1/2". If not, move the needle again.

    Good Luck!

  3. #3
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    Sorry to sound dumb, but I can't find where to move the needle.

    Thanks,

  4. #4
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,879
    Quote Originally Posted by skowron5
    Sorry to sound dumb, but I can't find where to move the needle.

    Thanks,
    Your manual will show you where/how to do it.

  5. #5
    Super Member TerryQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,483
    Quote Originally Posted by skowron5
    Sorry to sound dumb, but I can't find where to move the needle.

    Thanks,
    I have a 6600 and if you move the stitch width to a higher # it moves the needle to the right.

  6. #6
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Super Member feffertim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, California
    Posts
    2,399
    Blog Entries
    14
    If you use your accufeed and the 1/4" foot that goes with it, you will be more accurate

  8. #8
    Junior Member Karenowc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    Posts
    293
    Quote Originally Posted by feffertim
    If you use your accufeed and the 1/4" foot that goes with it, you will be more accurate
    You will have to move the needle to 5.5 to achieve 1/4" using that foot. But, yes I agree, that is the foot I always use when piecing on this machine.

  9. #9
    Moderator kathy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    on the Texas Coast
    Posts
    3,713
    i don't piece much with the acufeed but i use 4.0 to get a perfect 1/4"

  10. #10
    Super Member EasyPeezy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,143
    Quote Originally Posted by feffertim
    If you use your accufeed and the 1/4" foot that goes with it, you will be more accurate
    Even with the accufeed I still have to move my needle a little to the left or
    to the right. I do the 1/4" test with the three strips (as explained above)
    every time I start a new project and it saves me a lot of grief.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.