Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Larger Ironing Board >

Larger Ironing Board

Larger Ironing Board

Old 07-05-2014, 06:52 AM

Default Larger Ironing Board

I'm getting very frustrated with my store bought ironing board. It's too small for ironing a large amount of fabric. I have to iron half the fabric turn it around an start on the other half. Does anyone have directions on how to build a larger board? I'm not good with directions so I need them explained in what our son calls " mom directions". Lol
thank you for all your help in advance
Sue
Old 07-05-2014, 07:10 AM

Some people have used a door set up on end pieces (saw horses, end tables, what have you). I use a dresser with a covered pad. When it comes to ironing, the more real estate, the better!
Old 07-05-2014, 07:15 AM

Get a half sheet of plywood, you may have to buy a whole sheet, maybe you could go in with someone. They say it must be oak, not true. Lay it on the floor. Lay your ironing board on top of the plywood. Draw all around the ironing board with any kind of marker. Now get some "furring" strips or wooden strips approximate 1" X 1" or 1/2" X 1/2". Nail or screw them just outside of the lines you have drawn on the plywood. (when placed on top of your ironing board, these will keep the plywood on your ironing board.) Cover the top of the plywood (the part without the wooden strips) with a layer or two of batting and any left over fabric you might have (or you can purchase the silver kind made for ironing). Place plywood onto your ironing board (that you have set back up) fabric up. TA DA!!!!!! Hope that helps. Let me know if it doesn't make sense. Works perfectly in my head LOL!! My hubby has made several! I was going to add pictures but camera battery is dead. I'll charge it up and try later!

Last edited by AZ Jane; 07-05-2014 at 07:17 AM.
Old 07-05-2014, 07:18 AM