Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Machine sewing binding >

Machine sewing binding

Machine sewing binding

Old 07-25-2014, 11:45 PM

Default Machine sewing binding

Hi All,
First of all I want to thank the members on this board. Even though I'm a lurker I've learned so much by reading what others have done.

Firstly, I've learned how to sandwich my quilt using basting spray. I've finally made a quilt without all the puckers from not getting it all flat. The quilt I'm working on has become my "coming of age" quilt. I'm a self-taught quilter and have made about 10 quilts over the last 2 years.

I read the thread about the quilt police and a number of people 'confessed' to machine sewing binding. I have bad carpal tunnel and if I can avoid hand sewing all the better. I've always machined the front binding but if you sew the binding on the back also it must show on the front of the quilt. How do others manage this?

Thanks from Down Under
Old 07-26-2014, 12:16 AM

No need to "confess" anything! Whether one binds by hand or by machine, it is totally up to the quilter! I actually prefer machine binding - seems much stronger. I bind from the back to the front, and use one of my machine's pretty decorative stitches which gives the quilt a nice, finishing touch.

Last edited by icul8rg8r; 07-26-2014 at 12:20 AM.
Old 07-26-2014, 12:48 AM

I machine sew all my bindings. I usually attach to the back first, then pull to front and sew to the front. I use a normal straight stitch, and just move the needle two settings to the right to catch the very edge. (I use my blind hemming foot when doing this and keep the edge of the binding against the guide).

Recently I've started to sew to the front and then do the same on the back. My bindings are 2.5 inches wide and the side I sew last is always wider, so if I want a very narrow look on the front, I now sew to the front first.
Old 07-26-2014, 01:51 AM
Administrator

i machine stitch both sides of my binding, too.