Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Marking Accuqilt dies

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    OKLAHOMA United States
    Posts
    68

    Marking Accuqilt dies

    STUPID QUESTION ----- What is the purpose of marking the accuquilt dies?

  2. #2
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,488
    To help see the markings so you don't waste fabric. The newer dies however do not need to be marked since they now come out two tone in color. Using a magic marker and marking the lines/design helps in placing fabric and not wasting so much of it.
    clsurz

  3. #3
    Super Member luvTooQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
    Posts
    7,027
    Blog Entries
    1
    i trace a 1/4 inch around the outside of the die to tell me at a glance where to place and how big the piece of fabric needs to be..

    the new dies are two toned but i still make my markings around the blades..

  4. #4
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,784
    Blog Entries
    2
    Also, you want to mark your long strip dies with a true perpendicular line so you can correctly place the fold of your fabric and avoid "V" strips. If you have a studio cutter, use a metallic colored sharpie.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  5. #5
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    I mark the strip dies to make squares. I cut the strips then layer and recut squares. The same size as the strips of course. 2 1/2" strip die, makes 2 1/2" squares. I've never had the V cut in my strips so I don't mark for that.
    Got fabric?

  6. #6
    Super Member clsurz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    1,488
    Why is there a need for the metallic colored sharpie for the Studio?. I use a regular black sharpie to mark them like I do the GO dies and it works well. I also have never had a V cut in my strips so not sure what that is about.
    clsurz

  7. #7
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    5,784
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by clsurz View Post
    Why is there a need for the metallic colored sharpie for the Studio?. I use a regular black sharpie to mark them like I do the GO dies and it works well. I also have never had a V cut in my strips so not sure what that is about.
    WOW! Your eyes must be much better than mine! I cannot see a line marked with a black marker on the black foam of the studio dies, so I use a metallic sharpie. Also, I ordered all my strip cutter dies in the narrower format. You get fewer cuts, but I don't precut or square up my fabric and the narrow die lets me put the excess fabric in the tray. Because I don't square the fabric up first, I mark a line to keep everything straight, especially the first cut.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.