Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Marking Accuqilt dies >

Marking Accuqilt dies

Marking Accuqilt dies

Old 08-31-2012, 07:26 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: OKLAHOMA United States
Posts: 123
Default Marking Accuqilt dies

STUPID QUESTION ----- What is the purpose of marking the accuquilt dies?
scrapnut is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 08:58 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coastal Georgia
Posts: 1,508
Default

To help see the markings so you don't waste fabric. The newer dies however do not need to be marked since they now come out two tone in color. Using a magic marker and marking the lines/design helps in placing fabric and not wasting so much of it.
clsurz is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 10:22 PM
  #3  
Super Member
 
luvTooQuilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
Posts: 6,664
Default

i trace a 1/4 inch around the outside of the die to tell me at a glance where to place and how big the piece of fabric needs to be..

the new dies are two toned but i still make my markings around the blades..
luvTooQuilt is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 05:48 AM
  #4  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

Also, you want to mark your long strip dies with a true perpendicular line so you can correctly place the fold of your fabric and avoid "V" strips. If you have a studio cutter, use a metallic colored sharpie.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 11:04 AM
  #5  
Power Poster
 
BellaBoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Front row
Posts: 14,648
Default

I mark the strip dies to make squares. I cut the strips then layer and recut squares. The same size as the strips of course. 2 1/2" strip die, makes 2 1/2" squares. I've never had the V cut in my strips so I don't mark for that.
BellaBoo is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 02:28 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coastal Georgia
Posts: 1,508
Default

Why is there a need for the metallic colored sharpie for the Studio?. I use a regular black sharpie to mark them like I do the GO dies and it works well. I also have never had a V cut in my strips so not sure what that is about.
clsurz is offline  
Old 09-04-2012, 11:27 AM
  #7  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 11,235
Default

Originally Posted by clsurz View Post
Why is there a need for the metallic colored sharpie for the Studio?. I use a regular black sharpie to mark them like I do the GO dies and it works well. I also have never had a V cut in my strips so not sure what that is about.
WOW! Your eyes must be much better than mine! I cannot see a line marked with a black marker on the black foam of the studio dies, so I use a metallic sharpie. Also, I ordered all my strip cutter dies in the narrower format. You get fewer cuts, but I don't precut or square up my fabric and the narrow die lets me put the excess fabric in the tray. Because I don't square the fabric up first, I mark a line to keep everything straight, especially the first cut.
PaperPrincess is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
OneBusyGranny
Main
2
07-14-2017 10:51 AM
zzzKW
Main
8
07-13-2011 10:59 AM
quiltymom
Main
2
06-27-2011 05:22 PM
JanetWall
Main
11
02-18-2011 08:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.