Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My sewing machine's being a Diva.

  1. #1
    Zoo
    Zoo is offline
    Zoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    82
    Remember a few weeks ago when I was having tension problems with my Jenome (DM)? Yeah, I thought I had them sorted out, but apparently not..or as the case maybe "apparently knot". :(
    I was merrily quilting away last night, having a great time, the quilting stitches were working fine. This morning, I thought things were going fine until my machine starts making this horrible ka-thunk, ka-thunk noise?! I stopped immediately, took the quilt out and there's a horrible rats nest of threads in the last 1/2". Worse the quilting I had done in the last half hour before has loops/uneven tension on the underside, so all that has to be taken out.
    So, I switched bobbins to see if that was the problem and did a test piece.
    Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
    I took out the race shuttle and cleaned the underside of the machine (it didn't need oiling).
    Ka -thunk, Ka Thunk!
    Took off the top plate, cleaned it.
    Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
    Switched out the quilting foot for a regular one.
    Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
    Raised the feed dogs
    Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!

    Basically my machine won't even do a basic straight stitch on 2 pieces of fabric without making allot of noise and causing a huge rat's nest. :evil:
    I guess I'm going to have to take it in to be looked at, sooooo depressing, I'll be out a machine for about 2 weeks....... :cry:
    .......If anybody needs me I'll be on the couch eating chocolate chip cookies.
    Zoo

  2. #2
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,914
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did you change the needle? Sometimes a bent needle will do that.

  3. #3
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    2,001
    A bent needle will do that sometimes.
    But is sounds to me tht you have whacked up the timing.
    I was doing a quilt and it was thick and heavy and I did something, and like you got the thread nest and it wouldn't sew 2 pieces of fabric together...
    Had to take it in...
    Sorry,
    K

  4. #4
    Zoo
    Zoo is offline
    Zoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    82
    OMG!!!! :shock:
    I love you two! It's the only thing I didn't look at and when I did, sure enough it was bent. Just did some test pieces and we're back in the game!
    (good thing too, I've run out of cookies!)
    Thank you guys so much!!
    Zoo

  5. #5
    Super Member sewsewquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Florida Keys
    Posts
    2,162
    When you change the needle don't forget to rethread your machine.

  6. #6
    Super Member ania755's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1,571
    I do remember some smart guy mention here once to me that more than 90% of the machine problems are due to some dirt especially in the bobbin area.....
    I would first of all open as much as possible this area and look well if there is not some thread cought in there....
    good luck :roll:

  7. #7
    Senior Member LoriJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    706
    Zoo. I have a Janome. Whenever I have that problem its because the top thread has somehow "jumped" from where it should be in the tension discs. Take the top thread completely out and rethread. This will usually fix it for me.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Donna Mae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    100 miles South of Orlando, FL
    Posts
    237
    Did you rethread it?

    simple quilter

  9. #9
    Super Member Shemjo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    6,937
    My Janome does that sometimes also. Mostly it can be fixed with completely rethreading the top thread. I usually change bobbins when that happens also. It can be very frustrating! :?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.