Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
My sewing machine's being a Diva. >

My sewing machine's being a Diva.

My sewing machine's being a Diva.

Old 01-26-2009, 09:49 AM
  #1  
Zoo
Member
Thread Starter
 
Zoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
Default

Remember a few weeks ago when I was having tension problems with my Jenome (DM)? Yeah, I thought I had them sorted out, but apparently not..or as the case maybe "apparently knot". :(
I was merrily quilting away last night, having a great time, the quilting stitches were working fine. This morning, I thought things were going fine until my machine starts making this horrible ka-thunk, ka-thunk noise?! I stopped immediately, took the quilt out and there's a horrible rats nest of threads in the last 1/2". Worse the quilting I had done in the last half hour before has loops/uneven tension on the underside, so all that has to be taken out.
So, I switched bobbins to see if that was the problem and did a test piece.
Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
I took out the race shuttle and cleaned the underside of the machine (it didn't need oiling).
Ka -thunk, Ka Thunk!
Took off the top plate, cleaned it.
Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
Switched out the quilting foot for a regular one.
Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!
Raised the feed dogs
Ka-Thunk, Ka-Thunk!

Basically my machine won't even do a basic straight stitch on 2 pieces of fabric without making allot of noise and causing a huge rat's nest. :evil:
I guess I'm going to have to take it in to be looked at, sooooo depressing, I'll be out a machine for about 2 weeks....... :cry:
.......If anybody needs me I'll be on the couch eating chocolate chip cookies.
Zoo
Zoo is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 10:24 AM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Prism99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,931
Default

Did you change the needle? Sometimes a bent needle will do that.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 10:35 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
ScubaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Puget Sound, Wa. State
Posts: 2,397
Default

A bent needle will do that sometimes.
But is sounds to me tht you have whacked up the timing.
I was doing a quilt and it was thick and heavy and I did something, and like you got the thread nest and it wouldn't sew 2 pieces of fabric together...
Had to take it in...
Sorry,
K
ScubaK is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 11:59 AM
  #4  
Zoo
Member
Thread Starter
 
Zoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
Default

OMG!!!! :shock:
I love you two! It's the only thing I didn't look at and when I did, sure enough it was bent. Just did some test pieces and we're back in the game!
(good thing too, I've run out of cookies!)
Thank you guys so much!!
Zoo
Zoo is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 12:33 PM
  #5  
Super Member
 
sewsewquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida Keys
Posts: 2,173
Default

When you change the needle don't forget to rethread your machine.
sewsewquilter is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 05:08 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
ania755's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,775
Default

I do remember some smart guy mention here once to me that more than 90% of the machine problems are due to some dirt especially in the bobbin area.....
I would first of all open as much as possible this area and look well if there is not some thread cought in there....
good luck :roll:
ania755 is offline  
Old 01-26-2009, 06:20 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
LoriJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 700
Default

Zoo. I have a Janome. Whenever I have that problem its because the top thread has somehow "jumped" from where it should be in the tension discs. Take the top thread completely out and rethread. This will usually fix it for me.
LoriJ is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 06:42 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Donna Mae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 100 miles South of Orlando, FL
Posts: 247
Default

Did you rethread it?

simple quilter
Donna Mae is offline  
Old 01-27-2009, 11:33 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
Shemjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 6,885
Default

My Janome does that sometimes also. Mostly it can be fixed with completely rethreading the top thread. I usually change bobbins when that happens also. It can be very frustrating! :?
Shemjo is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bearisgray
Main
36
05-22-2015 10:20 PM
sewsue
Pictures
43
03-11-2013 07:24 PM
sewsue
Pictures
18
04-01-2010 10:53 AM
Susy
Pictures
23
10-20-2009 07:13 AM
bebe
Links and Resources
1
08-07-2008 04:38 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.