Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Need design help >

Need design help

Need design help

Old 10-11-2016, 06:49 PM

Default Need design help

I'm a newbie. This is my second quilt. The first one is what I meant to make (first photo).

However, I missed the yellow dot in the corner squares. (My corner square is only dark blue has light blue dots.) So, the yellow stripe I bought for the binding doesn't work. I tried red for the binding and it doesn't work, I tried a lighter blue (that matches the lighter dot in the corner square), and it looks OK, but not great. (Also, the only fabric that I found that matched the light blue was really cheap and thin.) Actually, the corner square fabric looks best as a binding of all that I tried.

(The third photo is fairly true to color. The second shows the overall look)

Originally, I bought enough of the corner square fabric to do the backing. But that much of the same fabric looks kind of blah and dark, especially for an I spy quilt. The recipient is only 2, so he probably wouldn't care. (Upside is that it would not show dirt.)

Any ideas on a better binder and backing?

bkay
Attached Thumbnails i-spy.-quilt.jpg   dsc_0502.jpg   dsc_0508b.jpg  
Old 10-11-2016, 06:56 PM
Power Poster

Yellow and blue are one of my favourite colour combos and I like the yellow binding. Cute quilt!
Old 10-11-2016, 07:59 PM

Cute quilt! I think I would go with a lime green fabric (like the light lime green pigs or the handles on some of the tea pots).