Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Can someone help our a first-time with fabric amount questions? >

Can someone help our a first-time with fabric amount questions?

Can someone help our a first-time with fabric amount questions?

Old 10-12-2016, 10:30 AM

Default Can someone help our a first-time with fabric amount questions?

I'm planning on doing a quilt finished size is 36"x48". It's a fence rail pattern do you think one 40 piece jelly roll will be enough?

And do I have to use only 3 different fabrics, rotating, or can I start dark at one end and move over to light or something else. Because I'm not sure 1 jelly roll will give me enough of the 3 fabrics I will have to use. I'm sorry if this is confusing.

Feel free to ask questions you need to to help me. This is my very first project. I've never quilted a square ever before this.

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 10-12-2016 at 01:18 PM. Reason: remove copyright image, should have used a link
Old 10-12-2016, 10:41 AM

You can make a rail fence quilt with any fabric you want. If you want the contrast to be dramatic as the one pictured then you would use only three fabrics. Google Rail Fence quilts and you can see a large variety.

When I have made the rail fence quilts in the past, I just sewed 3 or 4 strips together then cut them into squares - however wide the strips were would determine the square size. They go together so fast, I use the pattern when I need a quick quilt.

Last edited by quiltingcandy; 10-12-2016 at 10:44 AM.
Old 10-12-2016, 11:00 AM

Here is what you are buying in each jelly roll.
40 strips x 2.5"= 100 inches of fabric
100 inch / 36 inches/yd = 2.78 yards of fabric (cut into 2.5 strips) at about 44" wide

So to make a quilt 36 x 48. This about 1 yard of fabric at about 48" Plus more for the seam allowances ...which you have about 1.78 yd s extra for, you should be fine

Last edited by Jane Quilter; 10-12-2016 at 11:09 AM.
Old 10-12-2016, 11:17 AM