Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
A couple of questions about invisible thread..Can someone help? >

A couple of questions about invisible thread..Can someone help?

A couple of questions about invisible thread..Can someone help?

Old 11-16-2013, 05:16 AM

Default A couple of questions about invisible thread..Can someone help?

First, let me preface this by saying I am a relatively newbie at quilting and have gotten so much help from everyone here so I am turning to you all wonderful quilters!
I am taking the Craftsy class on machine finishing applique. I bought the Superior thread invisible and am using So fine in the bobbin. I bought the microtex 70 needles.
So here is what is happening.
Per the class instruction I am using a zig zag stitch with 2 length and 1 width. I can sew for about five inches before my material seems to get snagged in the hole where the needle goes into the machine. I stop, try to free the material and of course the invisible thread snaps. What am I doing wrong?
Also the thread by the spool after a while gets wound around the holder. Instead of just feeding in the direction of the needle it kind of goes backwards and wraps around the holder. I have checked a zillion times and it is threaded correctly. And if it makes any difference the holder is horizontal. I have a Singer confidence quilter ( I know, I know from reading this board there is some very strong opinions about the Singer line but I loved my old basic one and it was in my price range)

Thanks in advance for your help!

Liz
Old 11-16-2013, 05:20 AM

Re: the thread wrapping around the spool pin, I've learned to put a mesh sock around the spool itself. It keeps the thread from unwinding too quickly.
Old 11-16-2013, 05:36 AM

Originally Posted by gramajo View Post
Re: the thread wrapping around the spool pin, I've learned to put a mesh sock around the spool itself. It keeps the thread from unwinding too quickly.