Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
New to free motion, should I start over? >

New to free motion, should I start over?

New to free motion, should I start over?

Old 11-05-2013, 04:55 AM

Default New to free motion, should I start over?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]445006[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]445007[/ATTACH]
I am new to free motion but trying to imcorporate some on every quilt I make so I can get better. Here are images from the back and the front of my quilt I'm working on now. Not sure how happy I am with the quality, mainly the thread build up at the bottom of the leaves. Any advice on how to avoid this? Should I rip out and try a different pattern that will help me avoid this problem?
Also, if you were selling quilts would you be happy selling with the thread build up or is that a no-no?
Attached Thumbnails photo.jpg   photo-1-.jpg  
Old 11-05-2013, 04:58 AM

I like it. But I can't free motion quilt for the life of me so I admire your talent. I think it looks good!

As for the build up. For me it would depend on how it looked after being washed because of crinkling it may hide a majority of the build up. However. It doesn't look bad. I don't think it looks like one mass of knots or that it looks bad at all. Fwiw I would buy a quilt that looked like that.
Old 11-05-2013, 05:45 AM

Looks fine. You must practice to get better and you are doing that. You may never get away from the shorter stitches when changing directions, as that is a natural pause but maybe something to work on as you go.
Old 11-05-2013, 05:46 AM

I like it. I think that's fine. I haven't gotten beyond meandering stipple yet and still haven't mastered that, so FMing leaves is way advanced for me.
Old 11-05-2013, 05:47 AM

A great resource is Harriet Hargraves book Heirloom Machine Quilting. She specializes in working with beginners. I like her instruction how to avoid the buildup you referred to. Amazon has her book.
Old 11-05-2013, 05:51 AM
Power Poster