Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: not preview PAPER...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    665

    not preview PAPER...

    But preview "Plastic"
    I took a fmq class and she had a roll of plastic that you drew your pattern/motif on with a felt tip and you could preview your pattern/motif. THEN you could wipe it off ( I think she used alcohol)
    or unroll some more keep the pattern/motif and draw a new one on the fresh piece.
    It was not paper that you punched hole in.
    It was just for seeing what your motif looked like on your quilt/square.
    I should have bought it then and there but didn't.
    Anyone know the name or where to get it?
    Thanks in advance, Linda
    PS not thin like saran wrap
    Last edited by linhawk; 12-09-2012 at 10:41 AM. Reason: added PS


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas City area USA
    Posts
    445
    I bought something like this at JoAnns. It was on a large roll and was less than 10 a yard. A clear plastic tablecloth, is what it most resembles....you should be able to write on and wipe off but........not sure! There were different thickness of this clear vinal ''fabric''. Good luck....good idea!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member pdcakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    california
    Posts
    936
    don't know where to get that but have another option for you. had a speaker at our guild who uses clear plastic shower curtains. they are inexpensive and you can cut your piece as large, or small, as you want. works same as the rolls or plastic.
    pdcakm alias pat
    If things go wrong, don't go with them. ~Roger Babson

  4. #4
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    32,527
    Blog Entries
    15
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    Nancy in western NY

  5. #5
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,231
    Blog Entries
    2
    I just use the vinyl table cloth sold by the yard from WM or Joann's. I use dry mark pens.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  6. #6
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,859
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    I think you are thinking of Press & Seal wrap
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    665
    yes, thank you. Brain not in gear this AM.
    I even have some heavy plastic from Walmart when I covered my sewing table.
    Bet that will work. I'll give it a try.


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  8. #8
    Super Member Mitch's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,282
    You could also use velum sheets used in overhead projectors and some dry erase markers.

  9. #9
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Don't use a permanent marking pen, only the dry erasable one.
    Got fabric?

  10. #10
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Perris, CA
    Posts
    1,878
    Linda. First your profile pic just made me dizzy and I couldn't focus on your question....lol tired by now??.

    I can't help much with your question but noticed you are about 45 min from me so where did you take your fm class if I may ask? I am trying to find some classes so I can use my long arm better and without the robot.
    Thanks
    Faten
    Www.easyquiltingcorner.com

    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you have never been hurt

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.