Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: not preview PAPER...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    692

    not preview PAPER...

    But preview "Plastic"
    I took a fmq class and she had a roll of plastic that you drew your pattern/motif on with a felt tip and you could preview your pattern/motif. THEN you could wipe it off ( I think she used alcohol)
    or unroll some more keep the pattern/motif and draw a new one on the fresh piece.
    It was not paper that you punched hole in.
    It was just for seeing what your motif looked like on your quilt/square.
    I should have bought it then and there but didn't.
    Anyone know the name or where to get it?
    Thanks in advance, Linda
    PS not thin like saran wrap
    Last edited by linhawk; 12-09-2012 at 11:41 AM. Reason: added PS


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Kansas City area USA
    Posts
    445
    I bought something like this at JoAnns. It was on a large roll and was less than 10 a yard. A clear plastic tablecloth, is what it most resembles....you should be able to write on and wipe off but........not sure! There were different thickness of this clear vinal ''fabric''. Good luck....good idea!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member pdcakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    california
    Posts
    942
    don't know where to get that but have another option for you. had a speaker at our guild who uses clear plastic shower curtains. they are inexpensive and you can cut your piece as large, or small, as you want. works same as the rolls or plastic.
    pdcakm alias pat
    If things go wrong, don't go with them. ~Roger Babson

  4. #4
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,510
    Blog Entries
    43
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?


  5. #5
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,460
    Blog Entries
    2
    I just use the vinyl table cloth sold by the yard from WM or Joann's. I use dry mark pens.
    "I do not understand how anyone can live without one small place of enchantment to turn to."
    Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  6. #6
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,916
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    I think you are thinking of Press & Seal wrap
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    692
    yes, thank you. Brain not in gear this AM.
    I even have some heavy plastic from Walmart when I covered my sewing table.
    Bet that will work. I'll give it a try.


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  8. #8
    Super Member Mitch's mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    1,431
    You could also use velum sheets used in overhead projectors and some dry erase markers.

  9. #9
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Don't use a permanent marking pen, only the dry erasable one.
    Got fabric?

  10. #10
    Super Member Charming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    1,941
    Linda. First your profile pic just made me dizzy and I couldn't focus on your question....lol tired by now??.

    I can't help much with your question but noticed you are about 45 min from me so where did you take your fm class if I may ask? I am trying to find some classes so I can use my long arm better and without the robot.
    Thanks
    Faten
    Www.easyquiltingcorner.com

    Work like you don't need the money
    Love like you have never been hurt

  11. #11
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8,776
    As Pat mentioned, clear vinyl shower curtain works great. Then get the wet erase markers from an office supply store. Personally, I am not at all crazy about the technique. I prefer to draw out my block design on paper then use tracing paper to audition motifs. If I come up with something I really like it goes into my portfolio of quilting ideas and I can do it from the comfort of my sofa without having the quilt there. Finally I am not risking the quilt at all by accidentally marking it.

  12. #12
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,689
    Joanns in the longarm section
    Brother XL-3500i, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D, Juki MO-2000QVP

  13. #13
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,897
    Walmart carries clear vinyl in different weights in the fabric dept. on rolls.
    Suzanne
    Asking a seamstress to mend is like asking Picasso to paint your garage.

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Posts
    1,070
    For blocks I use the plastic sheets that you use for binding reports and a dry erase pen. I get them pretty inexpensively from Staples and they hold up well. I would like to try the roll from Joann so that I can audition a larger design but so far the smaller sheets have worked well for me.

  15. #15
    Senior Member rush88888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    leland nc
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    i think this would make a mess...at least for me! heck, i can't even get it stretched out to go over the bowl!

  16. #16
    Senior Member rush88888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    leland nc
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    Don't use a permanent marking pen, only the dry erasable one.
    if you decide to use a permanent marking pen, like sharpie, it will come off with alcohol, because the marker itself is alcohol-based. don't use other permanent markers that are solvent-based. the solvent you must use to remove the ink will probably cloud the clear whatever-you-use, and it is way stinkier than sharpies. all-in-all, i would go with the dry erase markers. just be careful not to slip off the side no matter what kind of writing instrument you use!

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,040
    You can get that heavy clear plastic at Jo ann's. I use it for my over lays when I do Hand Applique.

  18. #18
    Senior Member w7sue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Aloha, Oregon
    Posts
    414
    Blog Entries
    36
    I have used freezer paper to preview patterns on my longarm - it is almost see through enough and you can write on the dull side with a sharpie and it does not bleed through onto the quilt. Once I got the pattern I wanted, I put it on the back and used it like a pantograph. It's cheap!

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    449
    Blog Entries
    2
    It sounds like sheets of clear mylar which come in various sizes but start as small as note book paper. I get mine at a teahers store

  20. #20
    Member janbland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Smyrna, GA
    Posts
    71
    It is called Quilters Preview Paper. You can purchase it at Handiquilter.com.

  21. #21
    Power Poster solstice3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Citrus County, Florida
    Posts
    10,389
    I see you have info now on where to find it. Alcohol will remove permanent sharpie, old exrox ink, etc from plastic so I am thinking it will work on not so permanent markers as well.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,086
    that same plastic (from JoAnn's) works well when doing an applique pattern...draw the entire pattern on it...place ove the block and then pin down each applique piece as you do it. I saw this way of working in one of the app books I have, but don't remember which one right now.....

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    692
    Charming,
    Tried to PM you but you box is full.

    I took the class at Gingers just off Foothill Blvd
    gingersquiltshoppe.com
    (909) 920-3099
    1120 Dewey way, Upland, CA


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  24. #24
    Super Member nstitches4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    3,551
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    i can't remember the name of it, but it might be the plastic wrap that sticks to the bowl.
    I think you are referring to Press n Seal wrap. I wouldn't use that on a quilt. I have stopped using it in the kitchen because it leaves a sticky residue on the bowls that is very difficult to remove.

  25. #25
    Super Member jgriinke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,100
    I saw in an online class to get a piece of 1/4" plexiglass. I got one and put painters tape around the edges so you knew where to end with your washable marker. I use it all the time when starting a new quilt on the frame. I can lay it between the bars and draw what I want.
    I'm sure the vinyl would work too, but not stable like the plexiglass.
    Washable markers work too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.