Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Not sure what to do! >

Not sure what to do!

Not sure what to do!

Old 04-28-2014, 04:07 AM

Default Not sure what to do!

Hi everyone,
My next door neighbour has asked me to make him a quilt. He would like it to be a single bed size quilt. He has asked me to use a piece of embroidery that his father brought back from Egypt during the war as my inspiration.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]473365[/ATTACH]
I have never done embroidery before so am thinking that would not be the best way forward for this quilt!
I have made a panel using a technique called 'pile and plunder' by Abbie Searle. This came out looking pretty good (apart from the fact that one of the pyramids is floating in the air!), but I am concerned that the raw edges would not be ideal for a quilt that will be used and washed regularly, as I made this a little while ago and it has quite a lot of thready bits all ready, and it has just been sat around.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]473366[/ATTACH]
I am just not sure how to proceed with this one and thought you guys might have some good ideas! He is happy for it to be done using any technique and doesn't want it to be exactly the same as the piece of embroidery, he said he would just like some pyramids, palm trees and maybe a camel!
He asked me if I would do it at the start of the year so I feel I have procrastinated enough and need to get started on it! I'm just at a complete loss really!
Any suggestions will be gratefully received!
Attached Thumbnails imag0798_burst001.jpg   imag0852.jpg  
Old 04-28-2014, 04:43 AM

I did a search on Yahoo! Sand, Pyramid, Camel quilt pattern
I had a lot of responses.
This is a pattern that has several camels and a pyramid. http://www.critterpat.com/item.php?item_id=270
And then there was this scene http://www.shutterstock.com/pic.mhtml?id=122169001
Another scenic that you might like http://vector.me/browse/222407/egypt...sert_landscape