Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Ok I know there are no stupid questions.   BUT: >

Ok I know there are no stupid questions. BUT:

Ok I know there are no stupid questions. BUT:

Old 01-13-2014, 05:03 PM

Question Ok I know there are no stupid questions. BUT:

So I'm very new to quilting in fact I have not quilted before. Well maybe in my dreams. Always wanted to learn how to. I'm trying to learn as much as I can before I start. Well any way enough about me. My 1st question? I have seen jelly rolls. ( not the ones you eat lol lol lol I guess you know this already) How long are they and how wide are they. I'm sure they are used for strip quilting are there other uses for them in the quilt world binding, edging and such? My 2nd question? Are there any standards for edging your quilt? I'm thinking of doing a 8 inch block and doing the double Hour glass. I wanted to do a queen size but just talked myself out of it for my first quilt. The pattern looks easy enough watched a wonderful helpful video on it. Did I make any sense or am I just babbling... again.
Old 01-13-2014, 05:12 PM

Sorry I cannot answer your questions, but just wanted to tell you that you have come to the right place for the answers.
Someone here always has the answer, & everyone is more than happy to help. So just wait & you will get answers to
both of your questions. Happy quilting!
Old 01-13-2014, 05:15 PM

Jelly rolls are cut 2-1/2 inches wide and length is the WOF (width of fabric) - usually between 40-42" long.

I do use them for binding sometimes, and also for sashing (strips between blocks in the body of the quilt). I use them less often for borders (which I think is what you mean by "edging"?) because I prefer one long piece of fabric for borders but I HAVE used them there and there's no reason not to.

It's cheaper to cut your own strips, but sometimes the convenience and/or variety of a jelly roll is just the ticket.