Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Opinions/Ideas???

  1. #1
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,107

    Opinions/Ideas???

    Trying to decide if I should add strips between the blocks... (?)
    Rearrange the blocks... (?)

    What would you do? The person I'm making this for prefers darker/subtle colors.

    Name:  IMG_3510.jpg
Views: 644
Size:  1.50 MB

  2. #2
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Have you tried turning the blocks? You could end up with an interesting pattern or two that way. I do that when I make up blocks, before sewing anything together - to see if there is something else I might like better. What fabric line has the Texas blocks? I'd love to buy a few of those to make a quilt for my son, who used to live in Texas....

  3. #3
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,107
    DebbE, not sure I still have the side strip to let you know the fabric line. I'll check. It had a total of 8 blocks. The other are rodeo/cowboy pictures.

    I did try turning the blocks. Couldn't figure out what to do with the picture blocks though.

  4. #4
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    1,ooo miles from home
    Posts
    13,341
    Blog Entries
    2
    do you have anymore of that really dark blue fabric. if so, i'd add that around the Texas blocks instead of the lighter fabric showing past the blue on them. I don't think sashing strips are needed since the person you're making it for likes dark. but a border too would help.

  5. #5
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,363
    Quote Originally Posted by nativetexan View Post
    do you have anymore of that really dark blue fabric. if so, i'd add that around the Texas blocks instead of the lighter fabric showing past the blue on them. I don't think sashing strips are needed since the person you're making it for likes dark. but a border too would help.
    I also think this would look good.

  6. #6
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,107
    Yep, I've got more of the really dark blue. Probably when I sew the picture squares, the light border will disappear.. that was the plan anyway. But if they're not "right sized", a dark blue border would help it pop.

    Please, keep the ideas coming. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,196
    i think the dafkest marble blue should be added. the solid blues are throwing me i think. maybe pull ot those and do something else there. also turn some more of the blocks. it is a lovely quilt. maybe pull in a deep brown or rusty color. those solid blues seem out of place to'me. wrong tone or shade. the darkest one is fine how ever. i think thgat if the blues had texture to them like all the other fabric they would work but they just draw the eye too much. but this is only my opinion. good luck. post the final product. would love to see it.
    when life gets you down go and talk with a little kid. They will help you work out even the worst problems with their simple logic.

  8. #8
    Super Member Emma S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Roseburg, OR
    Posts
    2,468
    Just a thought. Maybe complete the squares on the outside by turning them and then put the pictorial blocks down the center. Can't quite picture how it would look but might work.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,918
    Have you tried putting the picture blooks ramdonly in the center. I think they get lost as cornerstones. Are there any other pic blocks that you could you for that center? Also I think that the bright blue is throwing me off since it is the first color that I see. I would try putting the pic blocks in the center surounded by the green one that are facing with the lg square toward the center. and maybe the bright blocks as the corner stones and the other dark blue blocks as a filler. Show us what you decide.

  10. #10
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    1,994
    I think there is too much color grouping....a more random placement of the blocks, as well as turning some of them, will look better than trying to keep them organized....mixing them up, including the picture blocks, will draw the eyes all over the quilt, instead of just one place....I don't think any sashing is needed....just mixed up the blocks....JMHO

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.