Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Opinions needed

  1. #1
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,066
    I have just finished a small quilt top with stars. I was just going to stitch in the ditch around the stars and inside the squares, but my daughter says that since the center blocks of the stars are 4 , I need to stitch around the center block in the star as well the outside of the stars. Opinions??
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6,876
    Blog Entries
    3
    whether or not you "need" to quilt in the star centers will depend on the batting you use. the manufacturer's instructions should tell you how far apart your quilting can get. you'll probably find you don't "need" to do the extra quilting.

    don't pressure yourself to add anything you don't feel ready for yet. i turn green with envy and sigh wistfully when i see the beautiful hand and machine quilting many of our members do. unfortunately, my own skills in that regard are still very limited. (i've learned to "love" the minimalist approach to the quilting phase of a project. :wink: :lol: :mrgreen: )

    that said, i have a feeling you might be more pleased with the results and with yourself if you added a little something to the stars. even something as simple as diagonal lines from block corner to block corner, so they run through the centers will add pizzazz without giving you a nervous breakdown.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    Quote Originally Posted by PatriceJ
    i have a feeling you might be more pleased with the results and with yourself if you added a little something to the stars. even something as simple as diagonal lines from block corner to block corner, so they run through the centers will add pizzazz without giving you a nervous breakdown.
    So very true, Patrice...even doing the whole quilt on the diagonal instead of stitching in the ditch may keep a nervous breakdown at bay.

  4. #4
    Super Member mimisharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina
    Posts
    6,014
    What a beautiful star quilt! You've done a beautiful job!

    What I like doing is considering the use of the quilt...if it's going on a wall and will only be washed infrequently, I quilt very little. If it's going on a bed and will be washed more frequently, then I quilt more. Look at it hanging on a wall, lying on a bed, consider your batting, the user, the use of the quilt, and then make your decision.

    Just don't make yourself nervous over it. It's your masterpiece and you need to be happy with it.

    Wonderful work, congratulations,
    Sharon


  5. #5
    Super Member sewmuch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,461
    No advise here, but your quilt is a beauty.

  6. #6
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,724
    i love plaid, thats really goodlooking. Also, no have to anything; in quilts. You do what you want :D

  7. #7
    Super Member MollieSue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    2,544
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beautiful quilt, beautifully done!! I 2nd Ruth - no have to's in quilts! :D

  8. #8
    Super Member Mplsgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Villages, FL
    Posts
    1,812
    Those are beautiful fabrics.

  9. #9
    Super Member Marcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,561
    Wow---I love all your plaid stars!!!! What a great quilt.

    I think the quilting advice you got from Patrice and Sharon is right on!!

  10. #10
    Super Member Evelynquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,414
    no opionion here, but your quilt is very pretty :-)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.