Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: Opinions needed

  1. #1
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,230
    I have just finished a small quilt top with stars. I was just going to stitch in the ditch around the stars and inside the squares, but my daughter says that since the center blocks of the stars are 4 , I need to stitch around the center block in the star as well the outside of the stars. Opinions??
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,168
    Blog Entries
    3
    whether or not you "need" to quilt in the star centers will depend on the batting you use. the manufacturer's instructions should tell you how far apart your quilting can get. you'll probably find you don't "need" to do the extra quilting.

    don't pressure yourself to add anything you don't feel ready for yet. i turn green with envy and sigh wistfully when i see the beautiful hand and machine quilting many of our members do. unfortunately, my own skills in that regard are still very limited. (i've learned to "love" the minimalist approach to the quilting phase of a project. :wink: :lol: :mrgreen: )

    that said, i have a feeling you might be more pleased with the results and with yourself if you added a little something to the stars. even something as simple as diagonal lines from block corner to block corner, so they run through the centers will add pizzazz without giving you a nervous breakdown.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    Quote Originally Posted by PatriceJ
    i have a feeling you might be more pleased with the results and with yourself if you added a little something to the stars. even something as simple as diagonal lines from block corner to block corner, so they run through the centers will add pizzazz without giving you a nervous breakdown.
    So very true, Patrice...even doing the whole quilt on the diagonal instead of stitching in the ditch may keep a nervous breakdown at bay.

  4. #4
    Super Member mimisharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina
    Posts
    6,014
    What a beautiful star quilt! You've done a beautiful job!

    What I like doing is considering the use of the quilt...if it's going on a wall and will only be washed infrequently, I quilt very little. If it's going on a bed and will be washed more frequently, then I quilt more. Look at it hanging on a wall, lying on a bed, consider your batting, the user, the use of the quilt, and then make your decision.

    Just don't make yourself nervous over it. It's your masterpiece and you need to be happy with it.

    Wonderful work, congratulations,
    Sharon


  5. #5
    Super Member sewmuch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,562
    No advise here, but your quilt is a beauty.

  6. #6
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,723
    i love plaid, thats really goodlooking. Also, no have to anything; in quilts. You do what you want :D

  7. #7
    Super Member MollieSue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    2,555
    Blog Entries
    1
    Beautiful quilt, beautifully done!! I 2nd Ruth - no have to's in quilts! :D

  8. #8
    Super Member Mplsgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Villages, FL
    Posts
    1,817
    Those are beautiful fabrics.

  9. #9
    Super Member Marcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,559
    Wow---I love all your plaid stars!!!! What a great quilt.

    I think the quilting advice you got from Patrice and Sharon is right on!!

  10. #10
    Super Member Evelynquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ct.
    Posts
    4,056
    no opionion here, but your quilt is very pretty :-)

  11. #11
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,230
    Quote Originally Posted by mimisharon
    ...
    What I like doing is considering the use of the quilt...if it's going on a wall and will only be washed infrequently, I quilt very little. If it's going on a bed and will be washed more frequently, then I quilt more. Look at it hanging on a wall, lying on a bed, consider your batting, the user, the use of the quilt, and then make your decision.
    ...
    Thanks for all the kind comments - I cannot take credit for the fabric combination - it was a kit from Keepsake - the plaid drove be batty!! If I had bought the fabric myself I would have bought more of each and "matched" the plaid in each square.

    My plan was to use this as wall hanging and I have Warm and Natural as batting. I am concerned that since the Hubby talked me into making it the size it was supposed to be :roll: (I was going to make it a 3x3 square) more quilting in the center of the stars may be better to help stabilize the quilt.

    You all have done far more quilting than I and I am happy for any direction. I think I will add small diagonals connecting the base of the points inside the centers.

    Thanks for all you suggestions.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,844
    Great quilt!! I'd ask you what you want to do? However you decide, it will look fabo! Skeat

  13. #13
    Community Manager PatriceJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7,168
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys
    If I had bought the fabric myself I would have bought more of each and "matched" the plaid in each square.
    in that case, i'm very glad you bought a kit. matching plaids in clothing is a big enough pain. you'd have driven yourself up the wall doing it in star blocks. :lol:

    that must be why the plaids i have always end up waaaaaaay at the bottom and back of my stash drawers.

    don't feel sorry for them, though. they have the striped stuff to keep them company on those long, cold, winter nights. :lol:

  14. #14
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,230
    Quote Originally Posted by PatriceJ
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys
    If I had bought the fabric myself I would have bought more of each and "matched" the plaid in each square.
    in that case, i'm very glad you bought a kit. matching plaids in clothing is a big enough pain. you'd have driven yourself up the wall doing it in star blocks. :lol:

    that must be why the plaids i have always end up waaaaaaay at the bottom and back of my stash drawers.

    don't feel sorry for them, though. they have the striped stuff to keep them company on those long, cold, winter nights. :lol:
    LOL - my daughter was in hysterics when she saw that I had bought something plaid - she knows what I do with clothing :lol:

  15. #15
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,935
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys
    My plan was to use this as wall hanging and I have Warm and Natural as batting.
    Warm and Natural is a needlepunched batting with scrim -- very stable and does not need close quilting. I think it can take quilting lines up to 6 inches apart; check the batting insert.

    In any case, a wallhanging does not need to be quilted as closely as a bed cover.

    p.s. I love your quilt!

  16. #16
    Super Member sewjoyce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9,664
    Your quilt is gorgeous!!

  17. #17
    Power Poster Mousie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    17,213
    great quilt and that's good info prism99 :)

  18. #18
    Super Member gcathie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Southeast, Ohio
    Posts
    3,270
    very nice and sounds like you have it under control....your quilt is very pretty!...:-)

  19. #19
    Super Member Quilt4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Merrimac, MA
    Posts
    9,035
    Blog Entries
    1
    Very nice.

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,413
    No advice, but you've done a great job so far, so I'm sure the quilting will be also.

  21. #21
    Super Member lass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,070
    Since it is small you don't need to do quite as much quilting. I assume you will use it as a wall hanging or table topper. I don't quilt my wall hangings like the lap and bed quilts.

  22. #22
    Super Member Sharon M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    1,266
    Blog Entries
    1
    Betty, what a beautiful wall hanging! I really like the plaids and the colors are me :wink:
    I am still fairly new at all this so no advice on the quilting part, just had to tell you I love it :thumbup:

  23. #23
    kd124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Camas, Washington
    Posts
    2,597
    Can't add anything more than what was said, but I want to say I love your quilt. It is stunning done in plaids--don't think I have ever see stars done in plaids.

  24. #24
    Super Member mountain deb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Petersburg, WV
    Posts
    1,555
    Uuuummmm, you could quilt a star in the center blocks with a metalic thread or sew a star shaped button in the center of each star. Just a thought, looks good and good luck.

  25. #25
    Super Member mimisharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Jacksonville, North Carolina
    Posts
    6,014
    Want to bet it ends up on a bed??? It would be beautiful on a large wall for sure, but I bet someone ends up with the beauty on their bed. I would have to lie under it for a bit anyway!

    speaking of stripes and plaids..........I'm sitting here typing and looking at some plaids and strips I'm going to use as QAYG Christmas stocking for the Troops and the Seniors. You thought Christmas was over? It's never over here, and I love to use the plaids with solid to make the stockings. Something festive and encouraging about them.

    Don't forget to post that picture of the result of your wonderful work.
    Hugs,
    Sharon

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.