Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Opinions please!

  1. #1
    Junior Member rubia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Winchester, VA
    Posts
    205
    Blog Entries
    2
    I just purchased 24 strips - each 2.5 x 42-44

    [img]http://i14.ebayimg.com/07/i/001/1a/6b/7588_1.JPG[/img]


    Do you think there's enough contrast in the materials for the Strip Twist to look okay? Or should I add in some darker colors?

    http://www.quiltville.com/striptwist.shtml

  2. #2
    Super Member SaraSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    AZ/Utah border
    Posts
    3,291
    What beautiful colors! The quilt would turn out very feminine and pastels. It would be a maze of girlie colors. In my opinion, whatever you want is great! So, since you had the idea, who here has the right to change what is in your minds eye! Although suggestions are often fun. There are about 1000 opinions here, and atleast 30 of us will tell you what's best!!! Most of all, we want to see it in progress, and finished!

  3. #3
    bj
    bj is offline
    Super Member bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    3,462
    I don't know that you need any darker fabrics, but maybe some that read more like solids. Or some soft florals in a different color like green or yellow. I think the soft pinks will look awesome. Your fabrics are really pretty.

  4. #4
    Super Member Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    9,573
    Blog Entries
    1
    I read those fabrics as 5 lights and 1 medium. The pattern calls for half light strips and half dark strips. I would add in 4 additional mediums to add contrast. I think this would result in a very soft, gentle quilt with enough contrast to be interesting. If there is no contrast, most of the fabrics are going to merge into one another.

    Mary

  5. #5
    Power Poster RedGarnet222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Wren's Haven
    Posts
    11,316
    I tend to agree with bj. Soft greens (taken from the colors in the pink strips) to add interest would liven it up to give enough definition to the strip sets that they would all not blend together and lose the design.

  6. #6
    Super Member Lucky Patsy's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,232
    I would add some darker pieces, but it all depends on the look you are going for. What are you doing with them?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    909
    I personally think you should add some darker colors. I made a strip quilt for my dd using different shades of purple. Some of the purples have blues mixed in. Here's a photo of the top (which still needs to be quilted :roll: )



  8. #8
    Super Member Mplsgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    The Villages, FL
    Posts
    1,812
    Quote Originally Posted by RedGarnet222
    I tend to agree with bj. Soft greens (taken from the colors in the pink strips) to add interest would liven it up to give enough definition to the strip sets that they would all not blend together and lose the design.
    Perfect!

  9. #9
    community benefactor Knot Sew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    5,724
    My only comment is what lovely fabric :D

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    7,881
    I personally think that a couple of darker colors would be terrific, but it's what YOU want that matters.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.