Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Need opinions of blocks, please

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    892
    I'm making a graduation quilt for a granddaughter. I've made two different star blocks. Which one do you like best, block 1 or block 2? The light blue fabric will be the star in each block. The dark blue fabric will be the background or outer space, if you will. I have 4 different darks I will use. Each star will have a photo in the center. This should have been done the last of May, but every step has been a trial.

    http://home-and-garden.webshots.com/...63205522Wpuidd

  2. #2
    Super Member Dawn Hendrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wilson, NC
    Posts
    1,661
    My opinion is the 1st block. It is more artsy like todays kids... verses block 2 that is more traditional, If that makes sense. Just my opinion. Good Luck!

  3. #3
    Super Member Marcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,559
    I like block one also. The sharper pointed stars are more "retro" and younger looking.

  4. #4
    ccbear66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Knob Noster, MO
    Posts
    913
    First of all let me say that they both look good but I like #1 the best.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    They are both great..I'm in the minority..I like the star in block #2 the best

  6. #6
    Craftybug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wendell, NC
    Posts
    596
    My pick is block #1, is more girly looking.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    68
    Another minority vote. Block 1 seems a little too sharp to me; block 2 seems a lot cozier.

  8. #8
    Super Member Barb M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mission, BC
    Posts
    2,143
    Hmm, they are both gorgeous, but i think block 1 is more grown up, But both are very beautiful!!!

  9. #9
    bearpaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,635
    I kind of like #1 better. It seems brighter.

  10. #10
    Super Member zyxquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    3,776
    Oooohhh! Both are lovely, but I like block 1 best. :D:D:D:D

  11. #11
    Senior Member adyldrop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    897
    I gotta ditto sue there, both are pretty but number one is the one!

  12. #12
    bj
    bj is offline
    Super Member bj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft. Worth, Texas
    Posts
    3,569
    They're both very nice, but I like #1 the best!

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    909
    I prefer block 1. It makes the photo stand out more.

  14. #14
    Super Member Harmony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brea, California
    Posts
    4,411
    Block 1 gets my vote. This quilt will be gorgeous!

  15. #15
    Super Member SaraSewing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    AZ/Utah border
    Posts
    2,390
    Oh my quiltykitty! I went into your webshots. You have a blue quilt there that is stunning! I loved it. Is it a scrap buster that is sewn in strip method? The colors are great.

  16. #16
    Senior Member CindyBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    739
    I like Block 1 because it has more contrast. That's going to be a great quilt!
    Cindy

  17. #17
    Super Member Lucky Patsy's's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,253
    I'm voting for Block 1 also, I think it accents the center piece better.

  18. #18
    Super Member Quilt4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Merrimac, MA
    Posts
    9,035
    Blog Entries
    1
    Block 1

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    424
    What size quilt are you planning......why not use both?


  20. #20
    Power Poster sandpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    18,757
    Blog Entries
    9
    Block 1 I think for this project. I cheated and looked at you other quilts :lol: Your prize winning quilt is stunning!!!!

  21. #21
    all4quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Shelley, ID, USA
    Posts
    350
    Both are beautiful! Like the simpleness of block 2, I think either would be appreciated! Hope things start going better as get into the rhythm of the quilt.

    Susan

  22. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    12,753
    i like them both, but i vote for block 1

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    892
    If it is the one with the owl, it is the Easy Pieces patter by Margaret Miller. It is Block A and it's mirrow image. There is also a Block B and it's mirror image and things called separators. Thousands of ways to lay out the quilt blocks. You can google Easy Pieces and find her website.

  24. #24
    Super Member DA Mayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Stacyville Iowa
    Posts
    1,636
    My dil is still young and she picked one also.

  25. #25
    Super Member vicki reno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,293
    Both are nice, but I like #1 better.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.