Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5
Results 41 to 49 of 49

Thread: opinions vs. rules

  1. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Central Wisconsin
    Posts
    966
    Quote Originally Posted by Holice View Post
    And let me add: Subject of the question not in the title.......
    I try to limit my time to the posts to which I can contribute and just saying Need Help is not sufficient.\
    Please tell me enough to let me know if it is something I can answer.
    I agree with Holice. I think the title of the post ought to say what it's about. So I said "think", and I hope that is not too strong. I posted one a while back, to which someone took umbrage. It was just my opinion, but I suppose I worded it incorrectly. The people on this board are so wonderful, I just read everything with the best of intentions, and sometimes have to "wipe off the screen". I love those.
    Mavita - Square dancer and One Room School Teacher

  2. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    345
    Nhweaver you are completely correct on pets finding a quilt on the cutting table or anywhere you might leave, my Chance has a beautiful bed on my cutting table that I made for him, but I can't leave any kind of fabric or batting or quilt on the table...for he thinks that is for his naps...but I do love him..I must remember that "he" is allowing me to use this home...gotta love our pets!

  3. #43
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,175
    Blog Entries
    6
    I agree with this statement. There are quilters out there that believe their way is the only way. I once had a person telling me that I only did it my way instead of the correct way. I ignored her, as I got it done my way and came out good if not better then her way.
    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.

  4. #44
    Super Member gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    8,064
    Most of do just offer opinions. I think most readers accept it as that.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

  5. #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    104
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinion or Rule?

    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.
    Was your post an opinion or a rule????

  6. #46
    Super Member Knitette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The Granite City, Scotland
    Posts
    1,022
    Quote Originally Posted by aggie View Post
    Was your post an opinion or a rule????
    LMAO - I LOVE this board!!!
    Lang may yer lum reek.

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    652
    Seems like that is the way it is done here. Just opinions. I luv that about this board.


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  8. #48
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,265
    great responses ---- it was a suggestion, since I've found, in my experience, that for me, suggesting is better than ordering....

    Thanks to everyone for their responses.
    Quote Originally Posted by Knitette View Post
    LMAO - I LOVE this board!!!
    Kate

  9. #49
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    Here a a few safety tool I have for cutting. One ER visit will buy one of each with money left over for a lot of fabric.

    http://quiltersslidelock.com/ my favorite, I have both sizes.
    http://www.rulesteady.com/ bought before I found Quilters Slide Lock.
    http://thegypsyquilter.com/thegypsygripper.htm I use the small one the most. It's great for small rulers.
    I have several cut resistant gloves I keep in my class/workshop tote.
    Got fabric?

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.