Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 49

Thread: opinions vs. rules

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,289

    opinions vs. rules

    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.
    Kate

  2. #2
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8,779
    I think most of us have made it abundently clear that there are NO hard fast rules for quilting. I usually use the term "it is best practice to..." Like it is best practice to test your marking tool before using it, It is best practice to test a fabric for color fastness". etc. Rarely have I seen a poster comment "you should always..." Or "you should Never" and if a poster does she or he is usually promptly corrected that "there are no rules". Unless of course you are entering into a juryed quilt shows where they do have specific rules about certain things but not in how to go about accomplishing them. There can be a rule that the quilt must have a hanging sleeve that measures 6" but there are several ways the maker can accomplish that. There can be a judged rule that binding miters should be sewn closed. Again nobody is forcing the quilter to do this, they can leave the miters unsewn but they will lose points for it.
    Last edited by feline fanatic; 02-01-2013 at 12:39 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Member seamstome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,338
    I read a quote the other day. Paraphrased--There isn't one RIGHT way to do anything but there may be only one way that gets you the right result on a consistent basis.

  4. #4
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,660
    Most people here speak from their own experience when it comes to quilting, and most people here listen with that in mind. The audience you need to address does not read this message board.

    So, tell us ktbb, did someone just call you out for doing something the "wrong" way??
    The Earth without art is just "Eh".

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,289
    nope - no one called me out...but on at least two occasions in the last two days, once today, I've seen statements indicating that the way defined was the only option...I've talked to enough new quilters to know that these kind of statements lead to confusion. I'm guessing that the writers in both these situations understand that there are other ways, but may not realize that the way their words are used give a different story than what they mean to give...
    Kate

  6. #6
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    There are always many ways to do something, some work for me and some do not.I am a firm believer of what ever works!!!!!! I find everyone here to be just wonderful at giving there way of doing things I can not say enough great things!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Junior Member QuiltnMyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Southern NSW Australia
    Posts
    215
    I very much agree with 'opinions' being just that. When I am asked to 'teach' a fellow quilter a technique that I find successful, I always emphasise that I am not a teacher, but I will willingly share my technique. It is just that - an opinion.
    Mary B

  8. #8
    Super Member nhweaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Delmarva Peninsula
    Posts
    1,167
    Blog Entries
    1
    Each of us comes here with varying backgrounds, skills - this "main" category response to any post is a good example of the many ways we use to do the same thing. Ask about quilting thread, and you will get 15+ differing responses, ask about fabrics, and you will get 15+ differing responses. We all learn from our experiences, and we all love to share our disasters, and our successes. We are a wonderful group of people. But the only rules I can think of are:

    Keep your fingers away from the rotary blade,
    Keep your fingers away from the sewing machine needle,
    If you drop a pin on the floor, it will land pointy side up,
    Do not sew after drinking alot of alcoholic beverages (learned that one the hard way)
    The dog/cat/gerbil/rabbit/whatever will sit on the quilt if it is within their reach.
    Last edited by nhweaver; 02-01-2013 at 02:42 PM.
    If life gives you lemons, make a margarita.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,807
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    nope - no one called me out...but on at least two occasions in the last two days, once today, I've seen statements indicating that the way defined was the only option...I've talked to enough new quilters to know that these kind of statements lead to confusion. I'm guessing that the writers in both these situations understand that there are other ways, but may not realize that the way their words are used give a different story than what they mean to give...
    And now each of us that has posted in the last couple of days, thinks we are being called out. Perhaps a wake-up call?

    When I read a post asking for how-to's and why-for's I take it to mean, 'please tell me how you do it so I can adapt what I don't know into what will work for me.'

  10. #10
    Super Member Weezy Rider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,124
    The misunderstandings are unfortunate, but some people do speak and write in such a manner as to give the impression that their way is the only correct way.

    My IH is good at that. He was a project engineer/manager and he pontificates like his word is law. I've called him out a couple of times, and he swears that what he actually meant didn't sound like I thought it did. But as far as I'm concerned, it still sounded bossy. BTW - he writes in the same manner.

  11. #11
    Super Member Jan in VA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    8,201
    Let it be known to all reading this thread that any "teaching" response made by me comes with the disclaimer "this and $2.50 will get you a cuppa....".

    Jan in VA
    Jan in VA
    Living in the foothills
    peacefully colors my world.
    http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...bums19552.html

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    537
    As a total newbie to both quilting and this board, I have found that there are so many differing techniques out there that I have to literally "go check it out" on youtube to find if it's something that makes sense to me. As for how the information is presented, well, that's to be expected on any forum. There are those who ARE experts, there are those who are PROFESSED experts, and there are those who just go with the flow, don't claim to be anything other than who they are, and are a wealth of good information. One can usually tell the difference

    For the most part, I can see that there are many personalities here, but rare is the one that may come across as your run-of-the-mill feather-ruffler-know-it-all. No matter. If I can see through the personality that the quality of the information is something I can use, I can usually ignore what might come across as feather-ruffling.

  13. #13
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Safety is my only hard fast rule. Wear shoes, use a safety tool when using a rotary cutter, and turn off the machine when changing the needle.
    Got fabric?

  14. #14
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,884
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the heads up about giving advice. I think I'm probably guilty of sounding like my way is a 'rule' when I don't mean to sound that way. I will be careful in the future to phrase advice as advice - one voice among many!

  15. #15
    Super Member ube quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    9,477
    Blog Entries
    31
    I am always amazed at how much I learn from 'new' quilters. Having no preconcieved ideas they just jump in and do their best and along the way create their own methods not even realizing just how creative they are.

    Yes, there are no hard and fast rules but a universe of suggestions. As long as you can get your cuts right, seams straight, good tension on your machine and no waves in a bias cut, you are good to go.

    The four basic trials of quilting.

    None of which I have accomplished!
    peace
    Last edited by ube quilting; 02-01-2013 at 04:00 PM.
    no act of kindness, no matter how small, is ever wasted. Aesop

  16. #16
    Junior Member cad_queen_2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    soutwestern ontario
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by nhweaver View Post
    Each of us comes here with varying backgrounds, skills - this "main" category response to any post is a good example of the many ways we use to do the same thing. Ask about quilting thread, and you will get 15+ differing responses, ask about fabrics, and you will get 15+ differing responses. We all learn from our experiences, and we all love to share our disasters, and our successes. We are a wonderful group of people. But the only rules I can think of are:

    Keep your fingers away from the rotary blade,
    Keep your fingers away from the sewing machine needle,
    If you drop a pin on the floor, it will land pointy side up,
    Do not sew after drinking alot of alcoholic beverages (learned that one the hard way)
    The dog/cat/gerbil/rabbit/whatever will sit on the quilt if it is within their reach.
    Thanks for the giggles, and the spit-take, (as I wipe off my screen). Although I have never tried to break your rule #4, I will remember to obey it. Rule #5, my dog will always lay on my quilt when it is in the hoop and i set it down, (maybe because it is a little fluffier when it is only basted?)

    I usually tell people, "this is how I do it, (and why), but you can do it any way you want."

  17. #17
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    Just as personal thought, whenever I hear someone speak , write etc... I assume its their opinion or view on their collection of information on what ever subject matter might happen to be.

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,456
    Quote Originally Posted by ube quilting View Post
    I am always amazed at how much I learn from 'new' quilters. Having no preconcieved ideas they just jump in and do their best and along the way create their own methods not even realizing just how creative they are.

    Yes, there are no hard and fast rules but a universe of suggestions. As long as you can get your cuts right, seams straight, good tension on your machine and no waves in a bias cut, you are good to go.

    The four basic trials of quilting.

    None of which I have accomplished!
    peace
    Yes, I have a younger friend who jumped into quilting with both feet and she is fearless. She also gets tons of quilts done with a full time job and a young family. (I do suspect she only sleeps three hours a night). My point is ...she has no rules, she puts crazy colors together and she is so successful.

  19. #19
    Super Member Cybrarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay Area, Florida
    Posts
    2,145
    Some of us who find some things a little more difficult are all of us left handers. Deb Tucker is great about showing how to do certain things with her tools left handed and Jenny Doan does also. We go through life adapting and adjusting and I don't expect things to be shown "the left handed way" but it sure is great when teachers on video take the time to do that. I say that because at times if a newbie seems really confused about certain things left handedness may be part of the issue. We're all newbies in one area or another; when I read widely differing explanations or opinions I'm glad because it gives me choices to find what works for me. I appreciate all I've learned from this Board!
    Come to Me and I will give you rest--Jesus.

  20. #20
    Super Member liking quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern Minnesota
    Posts
    3,242
    Blog Entries
    2
    I've learned almost everything I know about quilting from all of you, and as a relative "newbie", I never felt there was anyone saying there was only one way to get the result desired. The "no quilt police here" message always seemed to come through loud & clear! I tended to get great entertainment from the threads where a subject polarized quilters when both sides of an issue brought out the strong feelings. I'm one who is and always will be grateful for all of you who are very generous with sharing your experience, knowlege, and expertise. Sew on!
    Mavis

  21. #21
    Super Member LynnVT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,336
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    Safety is my only hard fast rule. Wear shoes, use a safety tool when using a rotary cutter, and turn off the machine when changing the needle.
    It's funny, Bella, a couple of days ago there was a thread asking whether you wore shoes quilting or preferred barefoot, and I think I was was the only one out of a couple dozen replies that actually does wear shoes to sew! What is a "safety tool" to use with a rotary cutter? My thing is just that every single time I stop rotary cutting, even for a few seconds to turn the fabric, I click the blade into the safety position. I don't think anyone in their right mind ignores that rule. But that's just my opinion. Kate, I see your point. Guess we all need to be careful how we phrase things. What I enjoy here is that there are so many different opinions expressed on every question, so you can pick and chose what to follow and what to ignore.
    "The business of life is making memories. In the end, it is all we have." Butler Charlie Carson, Downton Abbey, season 4, episode 3, PBS.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,211
    I have asked many questions on here. When people answer my questions I look at their answers based on their experiences. I have never read anything into any responses as being hard and fast rules.

    I remember asking about what was the right way to do something. I distinctly remember one poster saying it's my quilt and I can do it whatever way I wanted.

  23. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central Pa
    Posts
    519
    So should we all put a disclaimer in our sigs stating that our opinions are our own and shouldn't be taken as the law of the quilting land?

  24. #24
    Senior Member quiltingme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    599
    After five years learning to quilt, I am still such a "newbie" that I would never tell someone to do anything one particular way - I just might be quite WRONG!!! Egg on my face and all that...

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    926
    Thank you Kate. I've always received good advice here, usually with more than one suggestion as to how to do something. I do know though, that after taking a class I almost stopped quilting...I was convinced I was doing everything wrong, because of the way the teacher "presented" her "opinion". Once I joined here it took me awhile to feel comfortable posting!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.