Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 49 of 49

Thread: opinions vs. rules

  1. #26
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,014
    And let me add: Subject of the question not in the title.......
    I try to limit my time to the posts to which I can contribute and just saying Need Help is not sufficient.\
    Please tell me enough to let me know if it is something I can answer.

  2. #27
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Beautiful BC
    Posts
    1,214
    Blog Entries
    1
    Bellaboo, I understand that safety is a huge concern when using sharp tools and hot irons, but I mostly sew with bare feet. I need to feel the machine pedal and have a much better sense of what how much pressure I am applying with bare feet.

    I also do not turn off my machines when I change the needle I need all the light I can get to see what I am doing.
    Attending University. I will graduate a year after my son and year before my daughter.

  3. #28
    Power Poster earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    10,285
    It's all in the delivery I'm guessing. Some people are rule oriented....others slightly anarchistic....When I post a reply, it is always meant in the spirit of "in my humble opinion" or "this is what works for me"...

  4. #29
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    I've not noticed many "rules" being quoted---------and if one is, it's generally followed by a "but..........."
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  5. #30
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonomine View Post
    So should we all put a disclaimer in our sigs stating that our opinions are our own and shouldn't be taken as the law of the quilting land?
    This gal doesn't need to read disclaimers. We all have our ways-----------IMO---LOL--------it's great to see so many different approaches.
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  6. #31
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    Safety is my only hard fast rule. Wear shoes, use a safety tool when using a rotary cutter, and turn off the machine when changing the needle.

    What are the shoes for?
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  7. #32
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    Quote Originally Posted by Weezy Rider View Post
    The misunderstandings are unfortunate, but some people do speak and write in such a manner as to give the impression that their way is the only correct way.

    My IH is good at that. He was a project engineer/manager and he pontificates like his word is law. I've called him out a couple of times, and he swears that what he actually meant didn't sound like I thought it did. But as far as I'm concerned, it still sounded bossy. BTW - he writes in the same manner.

    Oh, you're talking about my hubby? He has two rules
    1. He's always right
    2. If he's ever wrong, go with rule 1
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  8. #33
    Senior Member rush88888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    leland nc
    Posts
    440
    the purpose of this forum is to share. i have asked questions, and i have received a myriad of responses. that is what happens. when i went to sew, i had choices to make. do it one way or the other? hmmm...what is done with the opinions is up to the individual.
    "perfection is the enemy of done."
    "the secret to having it all is knowing you already do."

  9. #34
    Super Member DOTTYMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England Alton Towers
    Posts
    6,641
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have changed my way of doing blocks over the years mainly to cope with physical handicaps. Today tips of left hand not working after trying open seams. Some people do believe there is one way only to do things and that is all. People on here are en mind and prepared to look at new ideas methods and techniques and take on those that work for them.
    Finished is better than a UFO

  10. #35
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    DC metro area
    Posts
    1,249
    Quote Originally Posted by nhweaver View Post
    ....But the only rules I can think of are:

    Keep your fingers away from the rotary blade,
    Keep your fingers away from the sewing machine needle,
    If you drop a pin on the floor, it will land pointy side up,
    Do not sew after drinking alot of alcoholic beverages (learned that one the hard way)
    The dog/cat/gerbil/rabbit/whatever will sit on the quilt if it is within their reach.
    Or hide under it.

    Love your rules. The only rules I gave when I tried teaching 12 yr olds. "rotary blades and needles are sharp. Don't bleed on the fabric if you can help it." and "I know the sewing machine can sound like a race car, but don't push the foot pedal all the way down to make it sound cool."
    Last edited by charity-crafter; 02-02-2013 at 03:35 AM.

  11. #36
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,014
    I don't think it is so much stating a "rule" but rather saying why one does anything in such and such way.
    For example someone might ask "What is the best batting for Hand Quilting" And then 15 different answers are given all with different batting but often no one says why. I usually say that when someone says you gotta, you must do it this or that way......to ask why. I can then make a decision if it right for me or I want to try.

  12. #37
    Senior Member Gabrielle's Mimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sunny AZ
    Posts
    576
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm a Learn to Quilt teacher at my LQS, and I always tell my students that there is only one hard and fast rule they need to observe: close the safety on your rotary cutter each time you place the cutter down on the mat. I worry that someone will be smoothing out fabric with two hands, and smooth their fingers right into an open blade! I explain which methods have worked best for me (and why), but that there are many ways to accomplish things, and to choose what works best for them.
    Create with joy in your heart!

  13. #38
    Super Member ghostrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4,660
    Quote Originally Posted by Holice View Post
    I don't think it is so much stating a "rule" but rather saying why one does anything in such and such way.
    For example someone might ask "What is the best batting for Hand Quilting" And then 15 different answers are given all with different batting but often no one says why. I usually say that when someone says you gotta, you must do it this or that way......to ask why. I can then make a decision if it right for me or I want to try.
    Well said, Holice. That gives the reader an option (as opposed to simply an opinion) and a basis for evaluating that particular option. I always learn so much more from understanding why someone does something the way they do it than by just hearing that they do it that way.
    The Earth without art is just "Eh".

  14. #39
    Super Member meanmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Fairfield, OH
    Posts
    3,291
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have always taken everything on here as advice. There are no rules in quilting. There are suggestions of ways to do things, but do your own things. Always remember that there are no quilt police and by breaking the "rules" is how new ideas are made. Just have fun with it.

  15. #40
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,131
    I must say that when I started quilting I used this board and other sites to learn different techniques and on occasion I have read posts that stated "the rule is" or "you should always"...so I can understand what you are saying...It was confusing to me to find that many other's techniques were totally different than what they were saying you should do...I just kept reminding myself that the early pioneer women couldn't have possibly done it that way so I kept looking until I found something that worked for me...Oh and by the way, thanks to the ladies and gents on this board I no longer believe in "the quilting police"...lol
    Last edited by labtechkty; 02-02-2013 at 05:15 AM.
    Kitty

  16. #41
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Central Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,299
    Quote Originally Posted by Holice View Post
    And let me add: Subject of the question not in the title.......
    I try to limit my time to the posts to which I can contribute and just saying Need Help is not sufficient.\
    Please tell me enough to let me know if it is something I can answer.
    I agree with Holice. I think the title of the post ought to say what it's about. So I said "think", and I hope that is not too strong. I posted one a while back, to which someone took umbrage. It was just my opinion, but I suppose I worded it incorrectly. The people on this board are so wonderful, I just read everything with the best of intentions, and sometimes have to "wipe off the screen". I love those.
    Mavita - Square dancer and One Room School Teacher

  17. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    345
    Nhweaver you are completely correct on pets finding a quilt on the cutting table or anywhere you might leave, my Chance has a beautiful bed on my cutting table that I made for him, but I can't leave any kind of fabric or batting or quilt on the table...for he thinks that is for his naps...but I do love him..I must remember that "he" is allowing me to use this home...gotta love our pets!

  18. #43
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,965
    Blog Entries
    6
    I agree with this statement. There are quilters out there that believe their way is the only way. I once had a person telling me that I only did it my way instead of the correct way. I ignored her, as I got it done my way and came out good if not better then her way.
    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.

  19. #44
    Power Poster gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    10,488
    Most of do just offer opinions. I think most readers accept it as that.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

  20. #45
    Junior Member aggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    129
    Blog Entries
    1

    Opinion or Rule?

    Quote Originally Posted by ktbb View Post
    We all have opinions, and preferred techniques, for and about quilting. We've adapted them because we've experienced that they work better than other techniques, or because they're the only technique we've tried or know about, or because "They" said you/I had to do it that way. I'm going out on a limb and say that there is almost always more than one way to do something successfully...but...different strokes for different folks, so we have each adopted what we think works best.

    With all the respect in the world for each of you, I suggest that when we want to help other quilters, particularly new quilters, we each give our opinions as opinions or preferred techniques...and not as rules...Let the others know what the options are and even why something works well, so that they can make their own minds up about what they want to adopt as their own technique.

    Again - I mean no disrespect for anyone on the board, and want newer quilters to know the options and be able to make informed decisions about techniques so that quilting is fun and not a chore. I appreciate your listening/reading.
    Was your post an opinion or a rule????

  21. #46
    Super Member Knitette's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The Granite City, Scotland
    Posts
    1,626
    Quote Originally Posted by aggie View Post
    Was your post an opinion or a rule????
    LMAO - I LOVE this board!!!
    Lang may yer lum reek. (I'm a knitter - hence - 'Knit-ette'. Confuses a lot of people!)

  22. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    692
    Seems like that is the way it is done here. Just opinions. I luv that about this board.


    ·What does a clock do when it's hungry? It goes back four seconds.

  23. #48
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    1,289
    great responses ---- it was a suggestion, since I've found, in my experience, that for me, suggesting is better than ordering....

    Thanks to everyone for their responses.
    Quote Originally Posted by Knitette View Post
    LMAO - I LOVE this board!!!
    Kate

  24. #49
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Here a a few safety tool I have for cutting. One ER visit will buy one of each with money left over for a lot of fabric.

    http://quiltersslidelock.com/ my favorite, I have both sizes.
    http://www.rulesteady.com/ bought before I found Quilters Slide Lock.
    http://thegypsyquilter.com/thegypsygripper.htm I use the small one the most. It's great for small rulers.
    I have several cut resistant gloves I keep in my class/workshop tote.
    Got fabric?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.