Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62

Thread: Pics showing accuquilt "wastage" using rag die

  1. #1
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    625

    Pics showing accuquilt "wastage" using rag die

    My brother and his family gave me the 8 1/2" rag die for Christmas (we celebrate it early). I am totally in love with it. I got great shoes from llbean too but this die is just awesome!!! I made myself one quilt before - a rag quilt and swore I would never do one again - it killed my arthritis and took me a week to rag.

    It took me minutes to cut two crib size quilts this morning with the die. I cut squares 9 1/2" and the die is 8 1/2". I took pics so people can see the "wastage"

    This is a 9 1/2 square:



    This is the square on the cutter:


  2. #2
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    625
    This is a pic of the wastage - sorry the pic is blurry:



    I will gladly waste the inch of fabric (that I save for dog beds) not to have to cut those edges.

  3. #3
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,619
    Hmmm. I have the Studio so I can cut more layers, but I don't even pre-cut the squares. I just fold the fabric and plunk it on overlapping the blade edges and shoot it through.

  4. #4
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    1,880
    I would waste more than an inch not to have to cut those edges...maybe I could send squares to you and you could "edge" them for me? lol

  5. #5
    Super Member QandE2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida - formerly Montana
    Posts
    3,144
    Thanks for sharing this. I have been wanting to purchase the acuquilt, but hesitated because I thought it would waste too much fabric.
    Alma
    Nami to 6

  6. #6
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,670
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have the rag die and love it. I put piece of vellum or tissue paper on the die before the fabric. This keeps all the threads out of the die. When I hear someone complain about the fabric waste using a die cut machine I know they have never used one or seen one used correctly. I get more waste then you do though because I use layer cakes for all my rag cuts. I eliminate all fabric cutting when I can. I like sewing not cutting. Try the big 9 1/2" hex die. It's great. I cut the fabric shape in half for a different pattern. I use the 6 1/2" tumbler die a lot too. I also cut those down the middle and resew. Thanks for the pictures.
    Got fabric?

  7. #7
    Junior Member quilter1942's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N.E.Georgia
    Posts
    217
    I agree the wastage is better than arthur coming to visit.I wish they would make a die for the 1/8 plus square size to make HST.Arthur is visiting me now in my RT.wrist from cutting 4 7/8 and 2 7/8 for HST in the cover quilt on American Patchwork and Quilting.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,053
    Last week I had a bad RA flare in my left hand, which of course is my cutting/sewing hand. Over the weekend I looked at the Accquilt stuff. I have one question for you all: I think from looking at these machines you have to turn a crank to move the fabric through. Does it turn easily - thinking of hands that are arthritic.?

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,115
    I have a rag quilt in my UFO pile. I've been thinking about whether it would work or not to run my "quilted" blocks through my GO so the rag part could be cut. I would probably have to do one at a time because of the thickness.

  10. #10
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    You do have to turn the handle, but I have carpel tunnel and it is not too bad. The more you use it, it seems to work easier. I love mine.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.