Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 62

Thread: Pics showing accuquilt "wastage" using rag die

  1. #1
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    628

    Pics showing accuquilt "wastage" using rag die

    My brother and his family gave me the 8 1/2" rag die for Christmas (we celebrate it early). I am totally in love with it. I got great shoes from llbean too but this die is just awesome!!! I made myself one quilt before - a rag quilt and swore I would never do one again - it killed my arthritis and took me a week to rag.

    It took me minutes to cut two crib size quilts this morning with the die. I cut squares 9 1/2" and the die is 8 1/2". I took pics so people can see the "wastage"

    This is a 9 1/2 square:



    This is the square on the cutter:


  2. #2
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    628
    This is a pic of the wastage - sorry the pic is blurry:



    I will gladly waste the inch of fabric (that I save for dog beds) not to have to cut those edges.

  3. #3
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,839
    Hmmm. I have the Studio so I can cut more layers, but I don't even pre-cut the squares. I just fold the fabric and plunk it on overlapping the blade edges and shoot it through.

  4. #4
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    2,650
    I would waste more than an inch not to have to cut those edges...maybe I could send squares to you and you could "edge" them for me? lol

  5. #5
    Super Member QandE2010's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Florida - formerly Montana
    Posts
    3,478
    Thanks for sharing this. I have been wanting to purchase the acuquilt, but hesitated because I thought it would waste too much fabric.
    Alma
    Nami to 6

  6. #6
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have the rag die and love it. I put piece of vellum or tissue paper on the die before the fabric. This keeps all the threads out of the die. When I hear someone complain about the fabric waste using a die cut machine I know they have never used one or seen one used correctly. I get more waste then you do though because I use layer cakes for all my rag cuts. I eliminate all fabric cutting when I can. I like sewing not cutting. Try the big 9 1/2" hex die. It's great. I cut the fabric shape in half for a different pattern. I use the 6 1/2" tumbler die a lot too. I also cut those down the middle and resew. Thanks for the pictures.
    Got fabric?

  7. #7
    Junior Member quilter1942's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    N.E.Georgia
    Posts
    215
    I agree the wastage is better than arthur coming to visit.I wish they would make a die for the 1/8 plus square size to make HST.Arthur is visiting me now in my RT.wrist from cutting 4 7/8 and 2 7/8 for HST in the cover quilt on American Patchwork and Quilting.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,067
    Last week I had a bad RA flare in my left hand, which of course is my cutting/sewing hand. Over the weekend I looked at the Accquilt stuff. I have one question for you all: I think from looking at these machines you have to turn a crank to move the fabric through. Does it turn easily - thinking of hands that are arthritic.?

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,114
    I have a rag quilt in my UFO pile. I've been thinking about whether it would work or not to run my "quilted" blocks through my GO so the rag part could be cut. I would probably have to do one at a time because of the thickness.

  10. #10
    Senior Member skowron5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Wallace, Michigan
    Posts
    452
    You do have to turn the handle, but I have carpel tunnel and it is not too bad. The more you use it, it seems to work easier. I love mine.

  11. #11
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    628
    Turning the crank is hard if you have lots of layers. I only put two layers of flannel through but up to 6 of cotton. I make sure the handle part is off the table as I find it easier to do it that way.

    Thanks for the tip about using vellum under the fabric.

    My favorite dies (before I owned this one) are the two tumblers and the strip dies. Santa is getting me the hexagon one. I forgot to ask for more cutting mats.

    I usually cut strips 1" wider than the die and run those through but with the rag I chose to do the squares

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    175
    I have an Accuquilt Studio and I love it. But I have a question for you. How do you keep the cut edges out of the way when sewing the strips together. It isn't a problem sandwiching the individual blocks but when the blocks are sewn into a row and you start sewing the rows together how do you keep the underneath fringes from being caught in the seam? Maybe I am doing something really wrong but I just can't get that part figured out. I have RA and I really do appreciate not having to cut all those small cuts to make it raggy!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    386
    Thank you for posting this!! I just ordered the AccuQuilt go and a rag die and I was wondering what a cut would look like!!! I can't wait till next year so I can start quilting again and I can't wait to try my AccuQuilt as I have determined that I suck at cutting. Merry Christmas!!
    Lisa

  14. #14
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,067
    Quote Originally Posted by skowron5 View Post
    You do have to turn the handle, but I have carpel tunnel and it is not too bad. The more you use it, it seems to work easier. I love mine.
    Thanks - reluctantly I think I need this too (I like cutting my fabric). If you can do it with carpal tunnel I think I could too! (Sorry about your poor hands.)

  15. #15
    Senior Member mcdor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hazelhurst, WI
    Posts
    819
    This machine is only hard to turn when you have to many layers of fabric.

  16. #16
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,839
    Quote Originally Posted by Shankquilt View Post
    I have an Accuquilt Studio and I love it. But I have a question for you. How do you keep the cut edges out of the way when sewing the strips together. It isn't a problem sandwiching the individual blocks but when the blocks are sewn into a row and you start sewing the rows together how do you keep the underneath fringes from being caught in the seam? Maybe I am doing something really wrong but I just can't get that part figured out. I have RA and I really do appreciate not having to cut all those small cuts to make it raggy!
    It just lies flat for me. I sew 1 inch seams and the fringe doesn't get caught...

  17. #17
    Senior Member EmbQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Central NY
    Posts
    628
    A few fringes were caught - I first pinned when joining to separate the corners but then just used my fingers to separate them.

  18. #18
    Super Member quiltymom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Springfield, Mich(Battle Creek)
    Posts
    3,243
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have one and love it!!!! I don't have much waste at all I just watch how I put it on. If you have trouble turning your putting to many layers on and you can ruin your die trust me I know I did it!!!!
    You know if your a quilter when you cleanup your sewing room and your family thinks your moving out!! Author U/K Sue

  19. #19
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,889
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sewmary View Post
    Last week I had a bad RA flare in my left hand, which of course is my cutting/sewing hand. Over the weekend I looked at the Accquilt stuff. I have one question for you all: I think from looking at these machines you have to turn a crank to move the fabric through. Does it turn easily - thinking of hands that are arthritic.?
    Mine was stiff at first, so I reduced the layers from 4 to 2. After using it for awhile, I now can usually cut 4 layers at a time with no problem. The rag die is harder to run through because there are so many more cutting edges on it. I think most people do just 1 layer of flannel at a time with that die.

  20. #20
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    I bought my studio because I have really bad hands and back and using the rotary cutter for long periods would just kill me and then I wouldn't feel well enough to sew. With the studio the cutting is fast, doesn't hurt my hands and back and I feel good enough most days to be able to sew quite a while before I have to give up. I think it has given me much more time enjoying what I like to do, sewing, quilting and all of it
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  21. #21
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,999
    If you were to turn your fabric just a little and line up the edges with the directions of the die it would be on the straight of grain better. I think I explained that, where the waste would be straight pieces instead of slanted.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  22. #22
    Senior Member starlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Charlotte, Michigan
    Posts
    424
    It will turn not to hard if you don't use very many layers. I know this first hand!
    Jan
    starlite(Jan)

  23. #23
    Junior Member Needle Up's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    265
    Thank you so much for the tip on the paper. It is so hard to get the threads out of the die. I take my scraps and cut them into various die shapes so I have them ready for a project that calls for that paticular size. I use the 5" die and the 2 1/2 strips the most. Great use of scraps for scrappy quilts.

  24. #24
    Super Member sandyl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware, Ohio
    Posts
    1,358
    Where is the best (cheapest) place to purchase these machines now?

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Enid, OK
    Posts
    8,923
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    I have the rag die and love it. I put piece of vellum or tissue paper on the die before the fabric. This keeps all the threads out of the die. When I hear someone complain about the fabric waste using a die cut machine I know they have never used one or seen one used correctly. I get more waste then you do though because I use layer cakes for all my rag cuts. I eliminate all fabric cutting when I can. I like sewing not cutting. Try the big 9 1/2" hex die. It's great. I cut the fabric shape in half for a different pattern. I use the 6 1/2" tumbler die a lot too. I also cut those down the middle and resew. Thanks for the pictures.

    if I had layer cakes I would trim them down and then use the 1" strip in a strip quilt! why waste your money like that?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.