Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: AccuQuilt Rag Die

  1. #1
    CutNup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Central Alabama
    Posts
    75
    In light of my recent experience with washing a quilt top that raveled to the point of being unusable, I was thinking of doing a raq quilt. I have an Accuquilt cutter and have ordered the rag die. Anyone ever used this and if so, how well does it work? Also, how many layers of flannel will it cut? Thanks for any info.

    Barb(-_-)

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,838
    You need to specify if you have the Studio or the Go. I cut about 8 layers at once on my Studio.

  3. #3
    CutNup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Central Alabama
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by Candace
    You need to specify if you have the Studio or the Go. I cut about 8 layers at once on my Studio.
    I have the Go.

  4. #4
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    I was told by Accucut rep to put a thin piece of paper on the die before the fabric and the rag threads would not get embedded in the die. Maybe after a thousand or so cuts the paper will dull the blades. I don't baby the dies, if I want to cut paper I do.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Texas Panhandle
    Posts
    46
    I have the 8 1/2" rag die for my Go! and have used it for one quilt. IMO, It was a big pain to use. Cleaning out the die was more time consuming than clipping the quilt. I don't think the die was worth the money.

  6. #6
    CutNup's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Central Alabama
    Posts
    75
    Thanks for the input. I guess since I've got the die, I'll try it but use the paper idea.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Texas Panhandle
    Posts
    46
    I might give it another try with the paper. Hopefully, that will be the trick.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Wanda_GA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    So. Georgia
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by dkays
    I have the 8 1/2" rag die for my Go! and have used it for one quilt. IMO, It was a big pain to use. Cleaning out the die was more time consuming than clipping the quilt. I don't think the die was worth the money.
    I agree I also did one quilt using my rag die and hated it, would rather do the 'ole fashion way, cut, cut & cut!

  9. #9
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,604
    By thin piece of paper, would a sheet of copy paper work?

  10. #10
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,838
    Weird, I don't have any problems with my rag die on the Studio. No paper needed either. Interesting...

  11. #11
    Super Member LAQUITA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    DFW / Texas
    Posts
    1,173
    Yes, me too. The rag die was the first die cut I used and I spent over 20-30 together pulling out the fibers that got caught in the blades. But even after doing that, it was still MUCH less time consuming that the old fashoined way. I guess like everything in life there is good & bad to it all!

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,053
    Blog Entries
    1
    I got it and I love it. Yes the die did get really gunked up; the rep told me not to worry about cleaning it until I was done; she said it wouldn't hurt anything. You can't put as many layers in as w/cotten but it does a great job. You can also use it to cut fleece to make a fleece rag; it won't shred just curl. I buy alot of flannel and then cut it all; sandwhich it together (you can either use batting or an extra piece of flannel or nothing in it at all. I stitch the layers together and put them in my stash; when I need to make a gift I sort thru them and get ones that are right for person recieving it. I made one with solids on one side and print on the other then appliqued designs (from accuquilt) made from fleece on the backside so it was more of a two sided quilt. If you have any problems contact the company and they'll help you out; fast

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    5,053
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the go; no paper needed; just don't be so finicky about the threads getting stuck until it's done. I was and the rep told me to wait and it all was good

  14. #14
    GramaJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    33
    Blog Entries
    1
    I also have the rag die.....you can only cut 2 thickness at a time....which is one square....works great...however a real problem cleaning...I am looking for help on that...
    but it really does make the job easy...Good Luck

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.