Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Question: Has anyone had problems with their Brothers PQ1500s?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5

    Question: Has anyone had problems with their Brothers PQ1500s?

    I just bought my PQBrothers 1500s in Nov. and haven't sewn on it that much. I made the quilt blocks for one quilt and started some blocks on another one but hadn't sewn since around Christmas on it. Yesterday I went to show a friend my machine and turned it on and was changing over to the free motion foot and noticed my light went off and lost the power and it won't come back on. I cleaned it and oiled the places it said to oil and still nothing. Just can't figure out what happened. I wasn't even sewing on it. It said in the book to check all these things on the trouble shooting page so I done that and then the last thing says, the automatic safety device has operated. I don't understand why for I wasn't doing anything but changing the foot. I loved the machine and was so happy with it. Was just wondering if anyone else has had any problem like this. Please Help! Trying not to get discouraged. Would be thankful for any help.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Roseville, CA
    Posts
    211
    This happened to me yesterday also but on my Juki. The plug was plugged in but not all the way, I went into panic mode, read the book, etc., then duh, I checked the power strip and the plug. I hope you get your machine up and running.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Eastern Canada
    Posts
    3,334
    Blog Entries
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by rjwilder View Post
    This happened to me yesterday also but on my Juki. The plug was plugged in but not all the way, I went into panic mode, read the book, etc., then duh, I checked the power strip and the plug. I hope you get your machine up and running.
    That gave me a giggle because the exact same thing happened to me a few months ago!
    ranger
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Life...you muddle your way through it and then you die!

  4. #4
    Senior Member ncsewer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    745
    LOL...Me too. Once I checked the power strip and the connection into the wall socket everything worked.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    I would have liked for this to be the answer to my problem but I checked all the cords and plug ins. My friend even had her machine plugged into the same outlet and it was still on. I just took it and carried to another plug in and it still won't work. It has really got me flustered for it worked fine the other times I was sewing. This is the nicest machine I have had and wanted to learn the quilting with it. I ordered this off of Amazon.com and I registered it online for the warranty so guess I will have to look up the nearest Brothers Service Center and take it there if I can't figure it out. You know you always want to think that it is just something a person is overlooking that you can fix yourself. If anyone has anymore suggestions please tell me. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,671
    Blog Entries
    2
    I have this machine but that has never happened to me before. I didn't even know it had a auto safety device. I guess something tripped it. There should be a way to reset it but I guess a repairman is needed to know what tripped it in the first place. One time at guild the machine would not sew. No matter what I tried the machine would not sew, the needle would barely move up and down. Brought it home and it sewed pefectly. My DH said the machine was not getting all the power it needed. I had it in a multi plug strip with two other machines that was plugged into the same wall socket as another multi plug strip. The breaker didn't trip but my machine sure didn't sew.
    Last edited by BellaBoo; 01-08-2013 at 11:22 AM.
    Got fabric?

  7. #7
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,713
    Blog Entries
    1
    Does the machine itself work, without the light on? I'm wondering if its just the bulb that burned out. You didn't say in your O.P. if you had tried sewing on it.

  8. #8
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    4,713
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    I have this machine but that has never happened to me before. I didn't even know it had a auto safety device.
    Same here!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5
    I checked the light bulb also and the whole machine had no power, it wouldn't sew. I was kind of wondering about both of our machines being plugged into the same outlet but her machine was still working but mine wasn't and then I tried it in two different outlets and it still won't work. I didn't know it had a safety device either till I read it on the trouble shooting page. And probably will have to take it somewhere to reset and find out what went wrong. Just seems funny that I hadn't even started sewing on it yet and the power went off. I'm puzzled for sure. Thanks again!

  10. #10
    Super Member Lisa_wanna_b_quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    The middle of an IL cornfield
    Posts
    6,972
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo View Post
    I have this machine but that has never happened to me before. I didn't even know it had a auto safety device.
    I have this machine, too, and have never had that problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.