Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
A questions for hand quilters >

A questions for hand quilters

A questions for hand quilters

Old 12-23-2015, 04:59 AM

Default A questions for hand quilters

I am fairly new to hand quilting--doing only small wall hanging projects. But I just finished hand quilting most of a twin sized quilt. I don't have a frame and really don't want to get one, and I found a hoop to be so cumbersome. So when I sandwich my quilt, I spray baste and pin and use nothing to hand quilt. On this larger quilt, I have found some areas on the backing that have puckered and not laying smoothly because of not being held tight in a hoop or frame. Now I need to figure out how to fix those areas. Any suggestions? Do you hand quilters use a hoop, a frame, or nothing? Do you not find hoops or frames hard to work with?
Old 12-23-2015, 05:14 AM

I have always used a hoop and it worked fine for me. But everyone has there own ideas on what works. I no longer hand quilt because of arthritis but it was my favorite thing to do in the evening while watching tv I use to sit in a straight back chair and have my quilt resting on a card table so the weight was not on me. don't know if that makes sense to you. Good luck in what ever you decide
Old 12-23-2015, 05:16 AM

I mostly use a hoop to hand quilt but not always. I think I would find a frame difficult because I just wiggle around too much to get comfortable when I'm quilting (or any other time for that matter). My suggestion would be if the puckering is not horrible, leave it as it is. Otherwise I think your only option would be to rip and redo and that may end up being most of the quilt. If you used a cotton batting, your quilt will pucker in the washing/drying process and those areas on the back will probably not be noticeable.