Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Wizard v EQ7 - help please for a newbie quilter >

Quilt Wizard v EQ7 - help please for a newbie quilter

Quilt Wizard v EQ7 - help please for a newbie quilter

Old 04-28-2014, 10:19 AM

Default Quilt Wizard v EQ7 - help please for a newbie quilter

Hi,
Thank you for letting me join your group, which looks really good.

I am new to quilting and I am confused about Quilt Wizard, which seems ‘cheap’ compared to EQ7. Web sites have not helped me understand so I am hoping someone here can help?
Thanks…
Toni
Old 04-28-2014, 10:36 AM
Power Poster

Quilt Wizard is put out by the same company as EQ7. It doesn't have nearly as much capability. I bought EQ6 and Quilt Wizard at the same time and never used Quilt Wizard after I discovered what EQ could do. I upgraded to EQ7 as soon as it was available, and I use it a lot. If you are thinking about buying EQ7, check the price on the Quilt in a Day web site. It's usually the lowest price around, but you have to put it in your shopping basket to see the price.

Some people are happy with older versions of EQ. The problem with EQ6 is that there are limited installs available, so if you buy it used or if you need to have multiple copies installed you may run into problems. EQ5 and earlier versions have an older style of user interface, and less capability than EQ7. I have the Dear Jane software, which is based on EQ5, and I find it much more difficult/cumbersome to use than EQ6 or 7.

Welcome to the forum!
Old 04-28-2014, 11:40 AM

Depends on why you are inquiring. I have both. Quilt Wizard is very basic and simple. EQ is much more advanced in features and techniques for designing projects. I would take classes on EQ if you buy it. I have fun with Q Wizard and rarely use my EQ6 but that is due to the time it takes to learn it etc. I have not bothered to invest in later versions. I dont use what I have now. Research the Electric Quilt website to see which product fills your needs.