Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Quilting help

  1. #1
    Senior Member omgtimmcgraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    las vegas nv
    Posts
    313

    Quilting help

    I need some help. I trying to finish up quilting my husbands quilt. Well I have about 80% quilted okay. Well my machine started to mess up. This is what it's doing. I have changed the needle and messed with the tension and no change. I am not understanding why it's doing this. I am getting these single loops now.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  2. #2
    Super Member TexasSunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Kilgore Tx
    Posts
    1,562
    Rethread your entire machine, take the bobbin out, put it back, clean it out while you are there, and see if that will work.
    Texas Sunshine, piney woods of NE Texas

  3. #3
    Super Member valleyquiltermo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    MO.
    Posts
    2,689
    I agree with TexasSunshine.
    http://www.skillpages.com/DonnaValleyquiltermo
    Sweet Dreams come from under Cozy Quilts made with love.
    Life is short, take time to enjoy it. Play with your kids and g-kids,
    and do what you can for others.

  4. #4
    Senior Member EdieClay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ten Mile, Tennessee
    Posts
    868
    Also, turn it off, wait a couple of minutes, and then turn back on.

  5. #5
    Senior Member omgtimmcgraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    las vegas nv
    Posts
    313
    I will try that.

  6. #6
    Senior Member ThreadHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Org. Texas now Florida
    Posts
    673
    I found that if you've tried everything else, rethread, new needle etc, and the bobbin thread is peaking through on the top, you can tighten the bobbin case just a tad and see if that works. I have an Esante ese2 and it is a pain to set up for free motion. I can't take the stitch length down to 0, and it was never right . I did go to the zig-zag, took it down to 0 and length to 0 and it works better. go figure
    Syl

  7. #7
    Senior Member omgtimmcgraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    las vegas nv
    Posts
    313
    It's all clean. Retreaded changed needle still doing the same thing. I am gonna change the bobbin go a size smaller on needle ( which I should have to since th last three quilts works great with that size) Hopefully that works

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Surprisingly, Staten Island NY
    Posts
    1,208
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you recently broken a needle. The reason I am asking is when I started having problems FMQ a broken needle tip was in the bobbin case and made a slight burr in the CHook and had to be buffed out. That was on a Bernina. Now when I break a needle I search and make sure not the tiniest piece is hidden.
    Create something beautiful from scraps.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    694
    I think maybe you are moving the machine or your hands a little too fast and it's not letting your stitches form the way they should.

  10. #10
    Senior Member omgtimmcgraw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    las vegas nv
    Posts
    313
    Didn't break a needle bent it really bad. I thought I was going too fast too. So I slowed down still getting the same problem. Waiting for baby Taylor to go to bed then I can mess with it more and change that bobbin.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.