Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Redwork Thread Color Choice >

Redwork Thread Color Choice

Redwork Thread Color Choice

Old 11-20-2017, 06:52 PM

Default Redwork Thread Color Choice

I have a new embroidery-only machine, so I am very new to this type of embroidery; I bought it to enhance my quilting. In acquainting myself with the machine and online designs I can import, I discovered something called "Redwork." I have no idea why, but it calls to me. Perhaps I've seen it growing up? Anyway, I have not bought much thread yet, -per some good advice on this Board that recommended I experiment with various thread brands. I am specifically deciding what color Red would reflect the color of red used in Redwork in days of old. I'm intrigued enough with this style of embroidery that I've found a collection at embroideryonline.com -Victorian designs- that appeals to me. So, does anyone have a recommendation as to the color red I should search for? It would be nice if it is linked to the Brother color number system , but it certainly is not necessary. For now, I prefer polyester, but since this is a special exploration on my part, I'm more than willing to use something else, such as Sulky rayon or one of Floriani's threads -you know, the better quality threads. Thanks for any suggestions you may have!

Last edited by QuiltnNan; 11-20-2017 at 07:17 PM. Reason: remove shouting/ all CAPS
Old 11-20-2017, 07:28 PM

Location: Asheville, previously Lake Vermilion, Tarpon Springs, Duluth, St Paul, Soudan

If this helps you at all, Th red dye most commonly used in the 18th and 19th centuries was called turkey red. A bright red, just a smidge to the purple side. Can’t help with the Brother numbering system. Just google images of turkey red.

Before turkey red dye was developed, the most common red dye in this country was madder. You should be able to find paint chips for both of these colors in almost any paint brad.

Last edited by Krisb; 11-20-2017 at 07:34 PM.