Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Sashing Question

Sashing Question

I am making the 4 quilt in my life so I am still learning, alot. This quilt I am working on has sashing and this is my first experience. My quilt blocks are 15"x15" and are placed 4 across and 5 down. I have enough fabric to do all this but I will have to piece the horizontal sashing pieces.. First question is that acceptable to piece the sashing and second question do I alternate the seams or keep them all in the same spot. This pattern did not call for sashing but I am using Marmalade print fabric and the pattern is called Lucky Stars. I thought there was just too much going on between the blocks without the sashing . Sorry I don't have any pics but hope to be able to post my finished produce. Thank you for any help.

If you add corner stones you could avoid the piecing of the sashing.

Sure, it is okay to piece the stashing. I do it all the time. As I keep reading here, there are no quilting rules. I haven't heard an opinion on alternating the seems or keeping them in the same place. I will be interested in seeing what others say. It may just be personal taste.

I look forward to seeing a picture of your quilt. (It doesn't have to be finished to show it off, you know.)

Dina

Quote Originally Posted by donnajean View Post
    If you add corner stones you could avoid the piecing of the sashing.
    Ooooo, I hadn't thought of this. Good idea.

ok now I have to admit what is the best way to add the cornerstones, which I like that idea but have never done it. Also, I have just decided that work is getting in the way of my quilting creativeness...

Blog Entries
    Here is a tutorial with pictures. http://www.sewinspiredblog.com/2010/...rnerstone.html
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank