Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 105

Thread: Opinions Needed - Sashing or No Sashing

  1. #1
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    2,115

    Opinions Needed - Sashing or No Sashing

    This is a scrappy Stepping Stones. The pattern calls for black sashing between each block and I can't decide whether I want to sash it at all. The borders will be a narrow black one, a 4" multi-color, and then outside binding of black. Thanks so much for your input!
    Name:  Stepping Stones sashing 001.jpg
Views: 2500
Size:  1.37 MBName:  Stepping Stones sashing 002.jpg
Views: 2469
Size:  1.33 MB
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  2. #2
    Senior Member AudreyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wichita Falls, TX
    Posts
    609
    Blog Entries
    5
    Gorgeous blocks! I like it with the sashing. It makes the blocks pop.
    AudreyB
    Those who sleep under quilts are covered with love.

  3. #3
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    Beautiful blocks, I agree I like it with the sashing.

  4. #4
    Senior Member raynhamquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    654
    Yes, the sashing looks great!
    raynhamquilter
    I hope you dance!

  5. #5
    Super Member Phannie1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Just move back to Chattanooga, TN.
    Posts
    2,021
    I like it with out the sashing. I like the colors blending.

  6. #6
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    12,400
    I like it a little better with the sashing, but both ways look super.

  7. #7
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    I think it's a lot more interesting without the sashing.

  8. #8
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,172
    Blog Entries
    1
    i like it with the sashing- but if you like it without go for it- without it kind of 'blends' together- with sashing there is distinct separation- your choice.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  9. #9
    Super Member kathdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri
    Posts
    2,499
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like the sashing. That quilt is going to be stunning.
    Kathleen

    Remember, people will see your quilts long after you are gone....NOT your housework!

  10. #10
    Senior Member alisonquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Winston-Salem NC
    Posts
    661
    Beautiful both ways...but I prefer without sashing.

    (Looks like you are going to get about 50-50 in the opinions - not much help, are we?!

    Alison

  11. #11
    Super Member Bluelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    1,777
    With the sashing it looks more "artsy", without it it has a slightly more traditional blended effect, almost like a basket weave. I like both looks.

  12. #12
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,530
    Blog Entries
    43
    i like it both ways
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  13. #13
    Super Member cathylynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    1,079
    Blog Entries
    1
    with sashing. each block stands out a bit more.

  14. #14
    Super Member irishrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cadillac, MI
    Posts
    6,583
    Blog Entries
    19
    Stunning blocks. Because it's for a grandson, I'd say sashing. If it were for me, I'd want no sashing.

  15. #15
    Senior Member rrhaigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    333
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like it with a thin sashing - pops the quilt blocks. But, either way the blocks are beautiful.
    Robin
    robinsquiltingroom.blogspot.com
    Southern California

  16. #16
    Super Member jcrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Small town in Northeast Oregon close to Washington and Idaho
    Posts
    2,735
    Blog Entries
    5
    Beautiful work you did. I love the fabric. I love the blocks with the sashing definitely!!
    "Be yourself...everyone else is taken."
    Strong people don't put others down...they build them up."
    "Remember that your instincts are more important than rules"

  17. #17
    Senior Member kapatt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Washington state
    Posts
    820
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like both ways.
    Kathyj


  18. #18
    Super Member CarolinePaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    2,591
    Sashing for me too!

    Hugs

    Caroline
    Caroline

  19. #19
    Senior Member 3TreeFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Prince Edward Island, CANADA
    Posts
    608
    Hello

    I too like the sashing!
    I wish to grow into a better person than I am.

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,028
    Your colors are wonderful. The pattern while it is elongated triangles is very linear. You might like to try putting two blocks together to get a square shape and then set them wonky against a wide black sash for a very distinctive, unexpected look. Of course it would be larger and a totally different type pattern, but just a suggestion.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Cedar Park, Texas
    Posts
    19
    I think I'd like it with sashing, myself, but I think I'd make a slightly wider sashing than showing in your photo. These blocks are beautiful, and like fine art, deserve a fine frame.

  22. #22
    Super Member redquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,928
    It's beautiful. I like it with the sashing.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Rockford, Illnois
    Posts
    403
    I vote for the sashing... The colors just stand out more.

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,321
    I vote for sashing. Gives your eye somewhere to rest. The quilt is beautiful, by the way.
    Sue

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    64
    Definately needs sashing. cool blocks!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.