Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Should I buy an EQ7? >

Should I buy an EQ7?

Should I buy an EQ7?

Old 08-26-2016, 04:58 PM

Default Should I buy an EQ7?

I am a beginner/intermediate quilter and so far, I get an idea in my head, then I find a similar quilt on Pinterest and build it on Powerpoint and do the math the best I can to determine how much fabric I need. Then I depend on the wonderful ladies at the quilt shop to help me as well.

I've been looking at EQ7. Is this product mainly for experienced quilters that are designing complicated quilts? If so, then I don't want it. Or if it's extremely complicated to learn, then I may not want it.

What are your thoughts?
Old 08-26-2016, 05:11 PM

Originally Posted by Janan View Post
Is this product mainly for experienced quilters that are designing complicated quilts?
No. Many people use it to design simple quilts, or applique quilts, or paper-pieced quilts. Many people use it to help them figure out how much yardage they need. Or to print out templates. Or paper-piecing patterns. Or to check color placement. Or to re-size blocks. There are SO MANY things you can do with this program!

Originally Posted by Janan View Post
Or if it's extremely complicated to learn, then I may not want it.
Well, that's a difficult question to answer. First of all, what constitutes "extremely complicated"? Many people found it simple to learn, and just as many people found it difficult. There are many threads here about this. I'm one of the users that found it quite easy to learn. EQ does have tutorials built into the program. There are also online classes, free tutorials here on the QB, and EQ has excellent help forums. I didn't work my way through any of the tutorials; I simply played around with the program. If there was something I wanted to do but didn't know how, I looked it up in the manual.

Check these bloggers out for EQ inspiration and examples:
https://virtualquilter.wordpress.com/
https://patchworkmaniac.wordpress.com/