Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 84

Thread: Total despair....have had enough

  1. #1
    Senior Member Little RoO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    England. UK
    Posts
    402
    Truly am on the verge of tears here.......I posted earlier that I am having problems with my Janome 6600.....it sews absolutely beautiful but I cannot get it to FMQ.......sometimes it does the most beautiful FMQ then I stop for a moment ...move to another area and all I get is loose stitches on the bottom as if there is no tension....I haven't changed anything settre the same Mode 2 stitch 11...feet down...tension 5 pressure 1 good thread new needle....so I rethread top and bottom and still a mess......has this happened to anyone else.....I am really fed up with this.....am on the verge of tears here....have spent yet another wasted night trying to sort it.
    If it did it all the time would take it back to the dealer but think it must be something I am doing wrong...please help

  2. #2
    Super Member Annaquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,636
    I am sorry I can not help. I have had moments like that with my 6500 but it was usually something like the wrong thread. something I have been doing lately is NOT dropping the feed dogs, setting it to quilt mode 2 and then just quilt away. I get a more consistent stitch and less hasle. Have you tried replacing the needle or putting in a new bobbin? sometimes all I need to do is step away for a day and then I am fine again.

    There is a list on Yahoo for people that have Janome 6600. Mine is its forerunner, Janome 6500. sometimes a mess on the back means tension issues on top. I have also had issues that my spray baste was jsut too much and goopie.
    Also did you change your tension to close to 1?

  3. #3
    Super Member kiffie2413's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,474
    I don't have a Janome, so I can't give you specifics...I can tell you I had the same issues, and I was so upset, almost giving up...and I am not a quitter....I finally ordered in different fmq feet than what came with my machine...found out they are smaller, and therefore they hold the fabric correctly for fmq, no more needle beakage, thread breakage, or icky stitching on the back and taking out all of it...so, maybe that is a suggestion?? I am sending you a quilt hug, and I know there will be some veteran fmqer's come along to help you...
    Take care,
    Kif
    PS I have a post on here about it, too... http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-153683-1.htm

  4. #4
    Super Member AlwaysQuilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,704
    Blog Entries
    3
    Does your Janome dealer offer a class?

  5. #5
    Super Member seamstome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,339
    I have a 6600 but I dont FMQ. My suggestion is that you get on the 6600 group on Yahoo and ask the same question.

    I have the blue bobbin casing just in case I ever decide to FMQ.

  6. #6
    Super Member PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6,319
    Blog Entries
    2
    Sorry you are having problems!
    When you said "Feet Down" i'm guessing that's feed dogs down. Also you said it happens when you move to another area. So you are actually lifting the needle & presser foot to shift the fabric. Are you sure that you are lowering the presser foot when you get to the new area? The loops on the bottom are the classic symptom of no tension on the top thread, and the way the tension is applied is when you lower the presser foot.
    Maybe someone else will have other suggestions.

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1000projects's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Carmel Indiana
    Posts
    458
    Do you have a single needle stitch plate?

    Can you post a closeup of the bad stitches?

    I would try a different size of needle and thread, to see if it helps.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Little RoO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    England. UK
    Posts
    402
    Oh my goodness....Anna quilts....I have just raised the feed dogs and guess what perfect stitches again and again.....I don't understand why it makes such a difference but I think you might have just saved my sanity.
    It is 11.30pm here in the UK and I haven't managed to get it sew properly since 7pm....had tried everything, cleaning...new needle...new bobbin...different threads but never thought to raise the feed....as I said have just tried it and like magic... perfect tension......thank you, thank you, thank you.

  9. #9
    Power Poster Lacelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    12,327
    Blog Entries
    19
    I'm not familiar with your machine, but just in case, I thought I would tell you that I have heard that top loading machines don't do fmq as well as front loading ones. I have no experience of this, so it might be wrong, and loads of members get on really well with their top loaders.

  10. #10
    a regular here
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    So. Ea. Ind.
    Posts
    1,332
    Is your needle in the left position? My Janome has to be in this postiton to quilt. If not I get a mess, loose threads and pulled threads. Try this and see what happens.

Page 1 of 9 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.