Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt >
  • Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt

• Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt

Old 10-20-2015, 04:29 AM

Smile Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt

I'm pretty new at quilting. Right now I am quilting my first pieced quilt and having a lot of fun. (I have sewn for 52 years though. I'm not that old--am I? )

I lucked up on a complete stash about a year-and-a-half ago for a pittance. I now have a HUGE collection of rayon embroidery thread. The colors are stunning. I have many different variegated and metallic spools as well. The other day I thought, "I wonder if rayon embroidery thread can be used on the top (not bobbin) to quilt?" So I pose this question to all of you experienced quilters. What do you think?
    Old 10-20-2015, 04:57 AM
    Power Poster

​Raton thread usually isn't as strong as regular thread. It is beautiful and I have used it on wall hangings and table runners to quilt since they don't get as much wear as a bed quilt.
    Old 10-20-2015, 05:04 AM
    Power Poster

I agree with Tartan. I wouldn't use it on any bed quilt or baby quilt that would have to insure many washings.
    Old 10-20-2015, 05:54 AM

Smile

Originally Posted by Tartan
    ​Raton thread usually isn't as strong as regular thread. It is beautiful and I have used it on wall hangings and table runners to quilt since they don't get as much wear as a bed quilt.
    I also agree, it is beautiful but I know it breaks easily. I wouldn't use it for piecing or quilting.
    Old 10-20-2015, 07:53 AM

What are your thoughts on using polyester embroidery thread for quilting? Have a lot of embroidery thread and never thought about using it for quilting!
    Old 10-20-2015, 08:12 AM

Good quality polyester embroidery thread is fine for quilting. I have used Isacord, Floriani, and YLI a number of times, just because I had it and the color was perfect. The rayon is not colorfast and is too weak.Pam
    Old 10-20-2015, 08:20 AM