Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Washing Commissioned Quilts >

Washing Commissioned Quilts

Washing Commissioned Quilts

Old 08-18-2016, 09:30 PM
gml

Default Washing Commissioned Quilts

Hi. I would like to ask if you wash commissioned quilts (those that you are paid to make), after quilting and binding it, before you return to your customer. What is the normal procedure with commissioned quilts?

All the fabric (all cotton) used in the quilt top and the backing was previously pre-washed. The only 2 items that were not pre-washed were the cotton batting and the cotton thread used for quilting.

When I make quilts to be gifted, I would wash the quilts after the binding is sewed on then gift it away. This is my first time handling commissioned quilts so am at a loss.

Appreciate any comments. Thank you.
Old 08-18-2016, 09:35 PM

Just ask the customer if they want it washed or not.
Old 08-18-2016, 09:55 PM

I no longer take commissioned work, but when I did I always washed it after quilting for 3 reasons:
1) to remove any marks that might not have completely come out with spritzing
2) because I only make baby quilts & want to be sure the quilt is as clean and allergen-free as possible before sending it into a home with a little one
3) if it's going to crinkle, I want that to happen before I give it to the customer (grandparent) so they don't give it to their child (parent) who washes it the first time & thinks they somehow ruined the quilt
Old 08-19-2016, 12:52 AM
Power Poster