Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Wedding Quilt >

Wedding Quilt

Wedding Quilt

Old 08-20-2015, 05:51 PM

Default Wedding Quilt

I am planning on making a wedding quilt where people sign their name in a block that I will add to the quilt. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how to do this? Should I make the quilt first, or have the blocks for people to sign and then make the quilt later. How do I assure they don't sign in the seam allowance? Would appreciate any suggestions as I have never done this before.
Also, glad for any suggestions as to how to set this up at the wedding site or should I mail the blocks ahead of time?
Old 08-20-2015, 06:41 PM

Plan out a template mark the seam allowance or cover with tape ( time consuming) Maybe just make the quilt ahead of time if there is time. Make sure to use the correct type of marking pen ( not sure what one that is) sharpies leave a pretty mark on the face if used! ask how I know that!!
Old 08-20-2015, 07:03 PM

What about using painter's tape around the edge - tape it to a piece of card stock. Depending on the size maybe use a 4 x 6 card to tape it to.
Old 08-20-2015, 07:36 PM

I have heard (haven't done one myself) that people make a template with a window just a little smaller than the size of the finished block. That is placed over the fabric square. If you have a piece of very fine sandpaper to put under the block it keeps it from moving. You can draw the placement of the block on the sandpaper so that it is in the right place. Make a few so that several people can work at once. Maybe hinge the template to the sandpaper so that the block is just placed in the middle and when it is closed everything is perfectly placed. Hope this is clearer than mud!!! Ann

Last edited by krafty14; 08-20-2015 at 07:38 PM.
Old 08-20-2015, 08:02 PM