Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: What am i doing wrong?

  1. #1
    Brendat0426's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    62
    Having problems with my tension...I have tried every possible adjustment position....it worked perfect for the main part of my quilt, then when I switched the color thread and started working on the border the back part has these loops coming through. I have tried it out on all the different positions. Then when practicing I found that it worked fine on the one with the main fabric (which is also my trial piece) but when I switch back to my border it doesn't work again. any suggestions?

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    CA & NM
    Posts
    1,125
    Did you put the bobbin in the right direction and did the thread making the "clicking" sound? I have messed this part up more than once! Hope you figure it out soon! My aunt had a saying: the perversity of inanimate objects!

  3. #3
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,108
    Blog Entries
    1
    make a small practice sandwich of the same fabrics as your quilt and then try it again. Make sure you are doing the same quilting design as you quilt too. Unless all factors are the same, it is harder to determine where the problem lies :D:D:D

  4. #4
    Super Member miss_ticky2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Posts
    2,054
    Loops underneath are usually a result of something wrong with the top thread. Try re-threading, and also may need a different needle...and a clean out in the bobbin area. Funny though that it sews on one part and not the other. Sorry, I don't have any other suggestions

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,234
    Have you tried changing needles? Maybe your border fabric has a tighter weave and it is a little tougher for the needle to get through.

  6. #6
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,963
    I had that problem and it was because my thread wasn't going though my tension discs right. Rethread.

  7. #7
    pab
    pab is offline

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    540
    Blog Entries
    13
    Rethread machine,use new needle,change bobbin case??Hope this helps and good luck pab

  8. #8
    Senior Member CompulsiveQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    746
    If the fabric in the border is different, you will need different settings. Try a practice sandwich using that exact fabric

  9. #9
    Super Member quilt queen 2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,339
    Are you using different thread? Sometimes that can cause problems I had a forest green that I just couldn't use it was the same brand I had been using but for some reason it would not stop jamming splitting etc switched back to original thread and it worked fne! Do you think it may have had a flaw?

  10. #10
    Super Member Shelbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,778
    Re-thread and change your needle! Tension problems are almost always because of threading and needles. Sometimes when I thread my machine, the thread does not "set" itself in the tension discs properly or it dislodges when stitching giving me problems. The tiniest burr or nick on a needle can mess up performance even when it doesn't look or seem dull.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.