Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
what started your quilting obsession >

what started your quilting obsession

what started your quilting obsession

Old 05-09-2011, 02:55 AM

I was wondering how people became addicted to quilting.Myself I was having a child and decided to make a quilt it was simple a panel .My family went out one day and we went to studio where a woman was making a huge wonderful quilt and I said to my dad thats a quilt like I was making (meaning putting the layers together)he then told me that mine was not like this this was artwork he didnt mean it bad but it inspired me to prove to him I can also do this.He loves every quilt I make and I have been quilting for 22 years
Old 05-09-2011, 03:03 AM

It started out with wanting a good embroidery machine...Bought the Husqvarna SE which is a combo emb/sewing and after a yr of doing embroidery and turning them into lap and baby quilts...the obsession began starting in 2007
Old 05-09-2011, 03:38 AM
Power Poster

I learned to sew when my oldest was born. I have no idea why b/c I never sewed before that! Then I started making crafty type things. Then a friend asked me if I wanted to sign up for a quilt class with her and I did. I loved it and haven't stopped!!
Old 05-09-2011, 04:01 AM
dd

It's a family tradition. Grandmothers, mother, sister, everyones sews. Made a "quilt" for my daughter when she was born in 1984 and another for my son in 1988. The first one I counted cross stitched baby animals and used them every other block. Then tied ribbons into bows and sewed them onto the corners to quilt it. My sons was a pre-printed panel of a circus and I just quilted around the designs. Didn't learn to quilt until about 1990. Took a class at the high school. She taught hand piecing and quilting. I have since taught that same thing to Girl Scout leaders in this area.
Old 05-09-2011, 04:03 AM

My sister got me into quilting when I retired from teaching. Let say she was an enabler.
Old 05-09-2011, 04:09 AM