Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Who knew UFO's were so frustrating...need some opinions

  1. #1
    RatherB Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York State, but I will always be Canadian!
    Posts
    946
    So I took a day off just to do some quilting. After a late start, I decided to start an old UFO from about three years ago. Started to get into it and realized that my sewing skills are very different to what they were three years ago. I am having trouble making my blocks the same size as they were before. Also, when I put the quilt away, I had most of the pieces cut out, ready to be sewn into blocks, but not all. So, between my different sewing and different cutting skills, I am struggling.
    The quilt is supposed to be a full/queen. I have enough blocks done for a twin. Do I struggle on and try to make the remaining nine blocks for the original size, or do I call it and make a twin.
    I just don't know.
    If I had known a UFO was so frustrating, I would never have started. That, and in the future, before putting a quilt away, I will at least make sure all pieces are cut out first!
    Thanks for your opinions!

  2. #2
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,353
    If it's that frustrating, I think I would just make it a twin, get it done and move on. But that's just my humble opinion!

  3. #3
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,027
    If it's frustrating, I say cut your losses and get rid of it! :)

    Your skills have improved and your taste has changed and maybe you're just not enthusiastic over this any more.

    If you still love the fabric, finish the twin and put the rest into the scrap bin. If you're just done with the whole thing, dump it all in the scrap bin or give it to someone who loves it the way you used to. :) No guilt! ;)

  4. #4
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    2,444
    I would make it into a twin, finish it, and feel like you've completed something. Save the other pieces for a scrappy quilt.

  5. #5
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,480
    I agree with all. When something is frustrating it is no longer fun, at least for me. Quilting should be FUN!

  6. #6
    QazyQltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    518
    Like the others ... make it a twin :-)

  7. #7
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,605
    Another vote for making it a twin!

  8. #8
    RatherB Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York State, but I will always be Canadian!
    Posts
    946
    I think I agree with you all. I will cut my losses and make it a twin. Maybe I can build it up with borders if I can find something that looks good with a double irish chain pattern. :)
    Thanks all!

  9. #9
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    31,244
    Blog Entries
    194
    make it a twin and go on with making other projects

  10. #10
    Super Member Yarn or Fabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    3,397
    I would make placemats... table runners... wall hangings whatever - with what you have and then make something else with the other pieces that are cut.... nobody will be the wiser and you will have made something usable out of something frustrating...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.