Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Who knew UFO's were so frustrating...need some opinions

  1. #1
    Senior Member RatherB Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York State, but I will always be Canadian!
    Posts
    944
    So I took a day off just to do some quilting. After a late start, I decided to start an old UFO from about three years ago. Started to get into it and realized that my sewing skills are very different to what they were three years ago. I am having trouble making my blocks the same size as they were before. Also, when I put the quilt away, I had most of the pieces cut out, ready to be sewn into blocks, but not all. So, between my different sewing and different cutting skills, I am struggling.
    The quilt is supposed to be a full/queen. I have enough blocks done for a twin. Do I struggle on and try to make the remaining nine blocks for the original size, or do I call it and make a twin.
    I just don't know.
    If I had known a UFO was so frustrating, I would never have started. That, and in the future, before putting a quilt away, I will at least make sure all pieces are cut out first!
    Thanks for your opinions!

  2. #2
    Super Member Raggiemom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    3,589
    If it's that frustrating, I think I would just make it a twin, get it done and move on. But that's just my humble opinion!

  3. #3
    Super Member thepolyparrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    2,038
    If it's frustrating, I say cut your losses and get rid of it! :)

    Your skills have improved and your taste has changed and maybe you're just not enthusiastic over this any more.

    If you still love the fabric, finish the twin and put the rest into the scrap bin. If you're just done with the whole thing, dump it all in the scrap bin or give it to someone who loves it the way you used to. :) No guilt! ;)

  4. #4
    Super Member klgreene's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Clovis, NM
    Posts
    2,494
    I would make it into a twin, finish it, and feel like you've completed something. Save the other pieces for a scrappy quilt.

  5. #5
    Super Member dakotamaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    South central Nebraska, US
    Posts
    5,585
    I agree with all. When something is frustrating it is no longer fun, at least for me. Quilting should be FUN!

  6. #6
    QazyQltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    518
    Like the others ... make it a twin :-)

  7. #7
    Super Member JulieR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Emmitsburg, MD
    Posts
    1,624
    Another vote for making it a twin!

  8. #8
    Senior Member RatherB Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York State, but I will always be Canadian!
    Posts
    944
    I think I agree with you all. I will cut my losses and make it a twin. Maybe I can build it up with borders if I can find something that looks good with a double irish chain pattern. :)
    Thanks all!

  9. #9
    Google Goddess craftybear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Central Indiana (USA)
    Posts
    30,667
    Blog Entries
    194
    make it a twin and go on with making other projects

  10. #10
    Super Member Yarn or Fabric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    3,393
    I would make placemats... table runners... wall hangings whatever - with what you have and then make something else with the other pieces that are cut.... nobody will be the wiser and you will have made something usable out of something frustrating...

  11. #11
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    11,926
    Blog Entries
    1
    I would make it into a twin and move on!

  12. #12
    Super Member plainpat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Mid-West
    Posts
    3,807
    Blog Entries
    11
    I've had UFOs that I couldn't even remember what pattern it was ! Maybe it'd work as a sofa throw for you, or as a gift for someone? Just do what works for you & I like the idea of putting fabric away with a UFO.

  13. #13
    Power Poster PaperPrincess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    10,464
    Blog Entries
    2
    Make it a twin, and if you still are not happy with it, don't spend the extra $$ on batting & backing, donate the top. However, having said that, this might also be a good fmq practice piece if you have any interest in that.

  14. #14
    Super Member Quilter7x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    north east
    Posts
    8,531
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RatherB Quilting
    I think I agree with you all. I will cut my losses and make it a twin. Maybe I can build it up with borders if I can find something that looks good with a double irish chain pattern. :)
    Thanks all!
    You definitely need to get yourself a little pair of Stork scissors. Your said your skills have improved over the last 3 years, go treat yourself!

    I am glad you're going with a twin on this one, I agree with everyone else. If you finish it at a twin size, you will see accomplishment and then have some scraps in your scrap bin for another project. :thumbup:

  15. #15
    Senior Member RatherB Quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New York State, but I will always be Canadian!
    Posts
    944
    [quote=Quilter7xYou definitely need to get yourself a little pair of Stork scissors. Your said your skills have improved over the last 3 years, go treat yourself!

    I am glad you're going with a twin on this one, I agree with everyone else. If you finish it at a twin size, you will see accomplishment and then have some scraps in your scrap bin for another project. :thumbup:[/quote]

    Awesome! You make me laugh! I am going to go out this week and get a pair of those scissors! Might help me finish this darned UFO! :)

  16. #16
    Super Member leatheflea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    martinsville Indiana
    Posts
    4,454
    Call it and make it a twin and call it done.

  17. #17
    Super Member bjnicholson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    3,236
    Blog Entries
    1
    A twin size. I thought that was your plan in the first place, wasn't it? (wink, wink, nudge, nudge!)

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Sparta, TN
    Posts
    1,286
    Make it a twin size and add borders to make it a full size.

  19. #19
    Super Member sewingsuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,897
    Mke it a twin size or lap quilt and move to things that make you go wow! or make table runner and place mats or all of it. Good luck. I have such a bad ufo like that , im going to practice my FMq ing with it. It can go into my car for emergencys.

  20. #20
    Super Member sewingladydi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Woodhaven, Michigan
    Posts
    1,983
    Make it a twin & move on. It was a learning experience right?

  21. #21
    Super Member Vicki W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,064
    I agree, go with the twin and move on.

  22. #22
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,063
    Go with the twin. Chalk it up to experience and find another project.

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    2,738
    Life's too short for unfun projects. Make it a twin and move on.

  24. #24
    lue
    lue is offline
    Super Member lue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,079
    A twin sounds like a wonderful solution! I picked up my Twisted Bargello after a 3 year hiatus and finished it. There is something about UFO's that sucks our energy out when we think about not completing it. I agree...do a twin and call it complete!

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    long island ny
    Posts
    1,326
    Twin It's suposed to be fun! But isn't it great that you're no longer at the level you were when you started it?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.