Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Wierd cutting sizes >

Wierd cutting sizes

Wierd cutting sizes

Old 02-07-2014, 09:26 AM

Default Wierd cutting sizes

Just an observation. When I started quilting, about 2 years ago, I bought several patterns and a kit. I just cracked into them and each one has these crazy size cutting instructions. Like 3 1/8 squares, 5 5/8 by 7 3/4 rectangles and so on. And they aren't going to be HSTs or geese. What's up with that? Maybe its just because I'm a beginner, but those sizes just seem strange to me!
Old 02-07-2014, 09:56 AM
Power Poster

If the pieces go together nicely, tthen they are the correct sizes.

I think some pattern designers use odd sizes to minimize copying of their patterns.
Old 02-07-2014, 09:56 AM
Power Poster

Hmmmm. Where did the patterns and kit come from? They sound as if they are quite old. Nowadays it's rare to see cutting instructions like that. Do they have any stars? Do you have the pattern names?
Old 02-07-2014, 11:21 AM

You might want to use some paper scraps and cut the sizes directed and lay it all out. The end result might be something familiar to you in a completely different manner. I have a pattern for a feathered star quilt that after reading the directions, my head was spinning. I took it to my LQS for some guidance. The person there I spoke with made the comment, oh, they have you doing x,y,z just in a different manner. All well and good. Still haven't done that quilt yet. One day when my mind is much clearer I'll follow my own advice here and work it all out differently.
Old 02-07-2014, 12:24 PM
Power Poster

Are the pieces cut bigger, then trimmed down? Sounds like that might be it.
Old 02-07-2014, 01:29 PM
RST