Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Would appreciate your opinion: EQ5 / EQ6 vs Dear Jane software

  1. #1
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    234
    If you own the EQ5 / EQ6, are you able to truly design a Dear Jane quilt blocks which are just the same as the ones you would find on the Dear Jane software or book? I am anxious to start on a Dear Jane quilt, but I've read that the EQ5 / EQ6 has the capability to create blocks for a Dear Jane quilt. Would it also include the triangle blocks?

    If you have knowledge on these programs, would you mind sharing your reviews / opinions of these software programs? What are the pros and cons, in your opinion?

    Thanks so much!

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    10,005
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am not an expert, but I believe the Dear Jane software is standalone. That is, you don't need EQ5 or EQ6 in order to print out blocks. Owners of EQ5 or EQ6 may purchase Dear Jane as an add-on.

    Here is a link to a description of Dear Jane:
    http://www.electricquilt.com/shop/dearjane/dj.asp

    Also, I noticed Amazon has some reviews of it. You might find additional information about it there.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    234
    Thanks, Prism for your suggestion; but what I wanted to know is whether you could do all the things that you would find on the Dear Jane software if you just bought the EQ5 or EQ6?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    i have EQ and yes you could design all the DJ blocks in EQ 5 or 6.

    for me its really a matter of time vs. money. you can buy the DJ software from joann's for $38 plus shipping, so its about $45.

    the number of block you have to design on your own in EQ are 220+.

    if you figure about 15 minutes per block it would take you 3300 minutes or 55 hours.

    while with the software costs you $0.21 per block, if you only count the original blocks.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    234
    Klue, I just called the EQ tech support and they told me that you could design the square blocks but not the triangle blocks on the EQ. So, in essence, you'll still need the Dear Jane software to work on the triangle blocks. Is that not true? Are you really able to create your triangle blocks on the EQ 5 or 6?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,788
    you can design just about any kind of block in EQ. as of yet, there hasn't been any design that i've thought of that i couldn't do in EQ.

    i think what they might be telling you is that there isn't an existing block within the library that you could alter to turn into a DJ triangle.

    you would have to start from a blank slate and draw the block 100% on your own within the program.


  7. #7
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    234
    I didn't even think about the time-constraints. You're right that it would be additional effort to design each block from scratch. I think I'll forge ahead and purchase the Dear Jane software and save up some money for the EQ6, down the road. I would still love to own the EQ6 since the possibilities are endless! Thanks, klue, for your input! Much appreciated!

  8. #8
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,460
    Quote Originally Posted by kluedesigns
    you can buy the DJ software from joann's for $38 plus shipping, so its about $45.
    I went to buy it at Joann's and it came up with free shipping. I went back and added an Omnigrid triangle ruler for $9 and it added $5.95 for shipping!! I removed the ruler. Free shipping.

    Sometimes these things just don't make sense when buying online.

  9. #9
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,460
    Someone ought to come up with a Charm Pack that includes all the fabrics needed for a DJ, maybe minus the background. :wink:

    Has anyone found a fabric line, CW maybe, that contains the right stuff?

  10. #10
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,483
    Blog Entries
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by pittsburgpam
    Someone ought to come up with a Charm Pack that includes all the fabrics needed for a DJ, maybe minus the background. :wink:

    Has anyone found a fabric line, CW maybe, that contains the right stuff?
    I agree I would love to have that also ! I have found an eBay store that sells packs of fat quarters, but for a Dear Jane a fat quarter is way too much :?
    Sharon

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.