Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Would appreciate your opinion: EQ5 / EQ6 vs Dear Jane software

  1. #1
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    233
    If you own the EQ5 / EQ6, are you able to truly design a Dear Jane quilt blocks which are just the same as the ones you would find on the Dear Jane software or book? I am anxious to start on a Dear Jane quilt, but I've read that the EQ5 / EQ6 has the capability to create blocks for a Dear Jane quilt. Would it also include the triangle blocks?

    If you have knowledge on these programs, would you mind sharing your reviews / opinions of these software programs? What are the pros and cons, in your opinion?

    Thanks so much!

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,154
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am not an expert, but I believe the Dear Jane software is standalone. That is, you don't need EQ5 or EQ6 in order to print out blocks. Owners of EQ5 or EQ6 may purchase Dear Jane as an add-on.

    Here is a link to a description of Dear Jane:
    http://www.electricquilt.com/shop/dearjane/dj.asp

    Also, I noticed Amazon has some reviews of it. You might find additional information about it there.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    233
    Thanks, Prism for your suggestion; but what I wanted to know is whether you could do all the things that you would find on the Dear Jane software if you just bought the EQ5 or EQ6?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    i have EQ and yes you could design all the DJ blocks in EQ 5 or 6.

    for me its really a matter of time vs. money. you can buy the DJ software from joann's for $38 plus shipping, so its about $45.

    the number of block you have to design on your own in EQ are 220+.

    if you figure about 15 minutes per block it would take you 3300 minutes or 55 hours.

    while with the software costs you $0.21 per block, if you only count the original blocks.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    233
    Klue, I just called the EQ tech support and they told me that you could design the square blocks but not the triangle blocks on the EQ. So, in essence, you'll still need the Dear Jane software to work on the triangle blocks. Is that not true? Are you really able to create your triangle blocks on the EQ 5 or 6?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    you can design just about any kind of block in EQ. as of yet, there hasn't been any design that i've thought of that i couldn't do in EQ.

    i think what they might be telling you is that there isn't an existing block within the library that you could alter to turn into a DJ triangle.

    you would have to start from a blank slate and draw the block 100% on your own within the program.


  7. #7
    Junior Member Ethel A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    233
    I didn't even think about the time-constraints. You're right that it would be additional effort to design each block from scratch. I think I'll forge ahead and purchase the Dear Jane software and save up some money for the EQ6, down the road. I would still love to own the EQ6 since the possibilities are endless! Thanks, klue, for your input! Much appreciated!

  8. #8
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Quote Originally Posted by kluedesigns
    you can buy the DJ software from joann's for $38 plus shipping, so its about $45.
    I went to buy it at Joann's and it came up with free shipping. I went back and added an Omnigrid triangle ruler for $9 and it added $5.95 for shipping!! I removed the ruler. Free shipping.

    Sometimes these things just don't make sense when buying online.

  9. #9
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Someone ought to come up with a Charm Pack that includes all the fabrics needed for a DJ, maybe minus the background. :wink:

    Has anyone found a fabric line, CW maybe, that contains the right stuff?

  10. #10
    Moderator sharon b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Northern Indiana
    Posts
    20,406
    Blog Entries
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by pittsburgpam
    Someone ought to come up with a Charm Pack that includes all the fabrics needed for a DJ, maybe minus the background. :wink:

    Has anyone found a fabric line, CW maybe, that contains the right stuff?
    I agree I would love to have that also ! I have found an eBay store that sells packs of fat quarters, but for a Dear Jane a fat quarter is way too much :?
    Sharon

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    Quote Originally Posted by pittsburgpam
    Someone ought to come up with a Charm Pack that includes all the fabrics needed for a DJ, maybe minus the background. :wink:

    Has anyone found a fabric line, CW maybe, that contains the right stuff?
    i'm sure if you contact whittles they would put together a package for you. they might want to give you 5" by the width of the fabric but that would really be fine, woudn't it?

  12. #12
    Esqmommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tied up in Thread
    Posts
    5,153
    I think there is a gal on the classified section here that has a DJ kit of fabric she wants to sell. Only she can't post pix, but she says they are replicas of the original, or similiar I think.

    I bought the book for DJ. Do you think I need the software too? Is it necessary?

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    like i told the OP, for me its a matter of time vs. money.

    you could certainly draft every pattern in the DJ but the amount of hours its going to take to do that vs. the cost of the software from joanns' for me its an easier decision.

    i have a spare $38 but i don't have a spare 55 hours (i'm sure it will take longer than that) to draft everything.

    if you have more spare time than money the book is all you need.

  14. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    the lady who listed the stuff in classified stated the name of the online store she got it from so you could go to the site and check it out. it was a DJ monthly club.

    i offered to buy the software but she wants more than it would cost from joanns since the shipping is free and her's is used.

  15. #15
    Esqmommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tied up in Thread
    Posts
    5,153
    Quote Originally Posted by kluedesigns
    like i told the OP, for me its a matter of time vs. money.

    you could certainly draft every pattern in the DJ but the amount of hours its going to take to do that vs. the cost of the software from joanns' for me its an easier decision.

    i have a spare $38 but i don't have a spare 55 hours (i'm sure it will take longer than that) to draft everything.

    if you have more spare time than money the book is all you need.
    good point!! Guess I'll buy the software.

    Are you planning to do a blog or a "quilt-along" type of project for the DJ? I thought you mentioned it somewhere that you might start something like that in Jan??

  16. #16
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    I'd be interested in a quilt-along. It's more motivating to be doing it with others.

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    yes, i thought it would be fun to do a quilt along on the forum.

    i think a few people are interested in making one and then this way there can be a long term record for future forum users on how to put together a jane.

    i was going to put up a post in oct or nov to gauge interest with the users to see if we could get a group up and start the quilt along after the new year.

    my website (blog & forum) is devoted to Weight Watchers and physical fitness and i'd rather not bring to much quilting over there (i have like 300+ members and none of them quilt).

  18. #18
    Esqmommy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tied up in Thread
    Posts
    5,153
    Well, I'm working on getting fabrics together, planning for the new year with ya'll!! Thanks - this will be fun. I'll get the software and start playing with it!

  19. #19
    Super Member pittsburgpam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,496
    Is there someplace that has yardage and/or close-ups of the fabric or comparable ones?

  20. #20
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    sadly, the yardage requirements are not listed in the book. EQ will be able to help you with yardage but as you know it estimates on the high side (which never bothered me - i just love fabric).

    the book has some good photos and i think the software would have some close up pics too.

    the dear jane site sells fabric that was based on the original jane. they even have a cheater panel in the line.

    then of course there are tons of monthly DJ fabric clubs you could join that range from a more traditional and accurate representation to a thoroughly modern design.

  21. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow, NY
    Posts
    4,780
    thats for the heads up about the free shipping at joanns. i went ahead and ordered the software today.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.