Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41

Thread: Your opinion, please!

  1. #11
    Super Member barri1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Woodmere, NY
    Posts
    1,361
    I like going to thrift stores on our Island.. I have been lucky finding fabric, and shirts in the mens department, and sheets for backing.. .. Everything gets washed, and dried straight from the bag.. The thought of hitch hikers scares me... I also wash fabric to make sure the dye won't run.. Right now I have burgandy sheets that I've washed five times, and they are still running.. I just got Retayne, and I'm going to try using it.. then run a wash cycle with dye catchers..
    Barri

  2. #12
    RDM
    RDM is offline
    Super Member RDM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Evergreen State
    Posts
    1,560
    Blog Entries
    1
    I believe good fabric brings good results, less dye bleed issues. That said, use cheaper material for sampler blocks as you learn techniques and master 1/4" seams, then move onto quality fabrics. IMO sewing on colors and fabrics I like is much more enjoyable. Join a guild or classes at LQS to learn, make friends, gather tips, and receive advice. Welcome to quilting, have fun with learning and I'm sure you'll do wonderful.

  3. #13
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,805
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by LeslieFrost View Post
    You should get to know what wonderful fabric feels like, so you know the choice you're making when you decide to buy less expensive stuff. I always head straight for the 'sale' table or remnant room in a good quilt store, to see if I can find what I need there. I don't buy online, because I hate paying shipping charges, but I know that many on QB find great fabric for lower prices on some of the online sites.

    If you go with less expensive fabric, I would advise pre-washing. I have had some cheap fabric shrink on me on the ironing board! Very painful.....
    I would pre-wash whether is good quality or not, just my opinion!
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  4. #14
    Super Member Dina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,215
    I don't actually know your definition of "good fabric," but I wouldn't start with real expensive fabric. It is too easy to cut a piece wrong or not make good 1/4 inch seams when you first start, or at least it was that way with me. I have been quilting a little over 2 years, and I buy most of my fabric at Wal-Mart, Hobby Lobby, or Hancock's. There are two quilt stores in town, but I just can't pay that much for their fabric. My quilts turn out good, and yours will too. The decision is really yours though. I would never advise a beginner to use expensive fabric.

    Dina

  5. #15
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,146
    Quote Originally Posted by bubble951 View Post
    I am a fairly new quilter, so I read a lot on quilting tips. Today, I read an article advising beginners to avoid cheap material. I don't know about others (they may have more money than me), but if I were to spend a lot of money on good material and mess it up on my first attempt, I would become discouraged and frustrated at ruining the material and just forget about quilting! What do you think! PS......I'm almost at the point of buying good fabric and hopefully my quilt will come out just fine!

    Perhaps beginning with a small project like a table runner would let you afford nice material without breaking the bank if you mess up.
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  6. #16
    Senior Member QuiltingCrazie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Germany (Military Spouse)
    Posts
    737
    Do what fits in your budget. My first quilts were done with fabrics from walmart and joanns I've never lived in a place where a LQS was i always had to make a special trip. Now because if where I live I have to buy online. I just got word that theres a shop an hour away and I plan to visit. I love charm packs because I spend very little to get a sample of whats out. Moda is my favorite. Only , thing I will tell you is whatever you choose to buy 2yards min. I used to buy 1/2 yard of the prints I loved and I'm struggling using them for quilts. I think the article was probably addressing getting what you pay for. If you buy high quality it will last longer, lower quality (thin fabric) may not last as long thru washings. You got to figure in agitation and heat that pioneers of quilting didn't have. Quilts have to stand up to a lot more now going thru the washing cycle.
    *Rachel*

  7. #17
    Senior Member Krisb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Asheville, Lake Vermilion
    Posts
    819
    Blog Entries
    26
    Better fabric will be easier to work with; after it is washed, it will have more body. Won't ravel; will hold its shape when pressing. So the construction process will be less frustrating. But it will cost more. Your choice. If you choose to use cheaper fabric, prewash using hot water and starch.
    I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.

  8. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    1,827
    You should buy the best fabric that you can afford. Having said that, I think you should make smaller projects until you are confident that you will not waste your fabric. Better quality fabric wears better and the colors stay vibrant. Cheaper fabrics fade and wear differently. When you spend hours making a quilt, you want the fabric to hold up. JMHO
    Sue

  9. #19
    Super Member kathdavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri
    Posts
    2,311
    Blog Entries
    2
    Use coupons at JoAnn's, shop the sales and buy what you like. I don't prewash unless it is flannel. I haven't had any problem. This fabric will probably outlive us. Paying $12.00 a yard for fabric would keep many from quilting. Slipping in an expensive piece now and then that you love is a good thing. Work with fabric you love.
    Kathleen

    Remember, people will see your quilts long after you are gone....NOT your housework!

  10. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York City/Manhattan
    Posts
    1,274
    my dad always said to buy the best you can afford

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.