Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 72

Thread: looking for opinions on IKEA furniture for my sewing space

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,547

    looking for opinions on IKEA furniture for my sewing space

    Hi all,
    We are looking for an efficient and attractive way to store my fabric stuff in our guest room down here in Florida. I've looked at wardrobe/cabinets at Lowe's, Home Depot and IKEA. The Lowes' one got terrible reviews. The Home Depot Closetmaid one got two good reviews but only two reviews. I really like the looks of the PAX cabinets at IKEA and am torn between two styles. The Birkeland is one. It can have four shallow drawers on the bottom and shelves above. I can't really find any reviews about the durability of the wardrobe units. I thought maybe some of you could let me know what you think. DH is not very handy but can assemble furniture. He is not confident about redesigning and modifying. I want something that works but still looks nice for when we use the room for company. Okay, I'd also like it to look nice when I'm using it instead of my space at home where the storage is not the greatest and everything ends up in a hodge podge frequently.
    Thanks for your thoughts,
    lots2do

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    17,035
    I think someone posted 2 Ikea units combined with their cutting board on top and it was aweome.I believe it was in the Mission Organization section of QB.

    Nope I just checked it was cubes from Home Depot and the title post was from Morelcabin under Look what I built today.
    Last edited by Tartan; 07-13-2013 at 09:48 AM.

  3. #3
    Super Member carolaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Behind my sewing machine
    Posts
    6,920
    Blog Entries
    4
    I love the table I purchased on line from them.

  4. #4
    Senior Member quilter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ayr, Ontario
    Posts
    931
    Blog Entries
    316
    We are moving in a few weeks and I get to furnish a large sewing room. I will be using the Borgsjo cabinets in white with glass doors from Ikea for my fabric storage. I can fit 3 in a row on 1 wall, and 4 bookshelves from the same system on another wall. The Hemnes cabinets are really nice too, but they are 3 times the price. We had a PAX wardrobe in our bedroom and I liked it, but it is very tall and the top shelf was hard to reach. My DH can put anything together but the PAX wardrobe was difficult because it is so tall. It is not a one person job. Goo luck with your choice of cabinets.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Spanish Fort, AL (on the AL Gulf Coast)
    Posts
    213
    Google the group called ikeahackers - you'll get several ideas from the site. Another place I found to look for storage ideas is the photo site called flickr.com - this link takes you to a group called Operation: Sewing Room Organization

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/operati..._organization/

    You're bound to get some good ideas from these pictures. Hope this helps!!

  6. #6
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,372
    I think Ikea furniture would be great in a sewing room!

  7. #7
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,500
    Ikea furniture IS terrific for a quilt room. I wanted white bookcases to cover one entire long wall - I bought 5 "Billy" bookcases and the end ones on each side have double glassed doors. The center one is skinny as it holds a ton of books. The bookcases are wonderful! Gives a nice organized look to the room and it matches the kitchen cabinets (out of the original kitchen) on the other long wall (bases & wall cabinets), which gives a nice clean, uniform look to the room. The walls are painted Antique Filoli (which is a deep, rich beige color) and all trim in the room is Dove White, which also matches the cabinetry. Wood floors and a nice carpet, and some antiques -- its the room I love the most in the entire house. Great value for the money!

  8. #8
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    15,895
    My sewing room is from IKEA. It's wonderful!!
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, and 4 crazy cats!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,547
    Thank you all for the advice and the pictures too! I spent a good amount of time checking out the flicker pictures too. We are going to go back to IKEA to look at our options again soon. Last time was our first time there and it was pretty overwhelming. I am excited about the possibilities!

  10. #10
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    8,466
    Just one piece of advice.. do layout your space on graph paper , before buying... I have seen good ideas gone bad .. because the scale of the selected pieces did not correspond with the "real" space. Make sure you take into account the door swings space.

Page 1 of 8 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.