Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 72

Thread: looking for opinions on IKEA furniture for my sewing space

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,809

    looking for opinions on IKEA furniture for my sewing space

    Hi all,
    We are looking for an efficient and attractive way to store my fabric stuff in our guest room down here in Florida. I've looked at wardrobe/cabinets at Lowe's, Home Depot and IKEA. The Lowes' one got terrible reviews. The Home Depot Closetmaid one got two good reviews but only two reviews. I really like the looks of the PAX cabinets at IKEA and am torn between two styles. The Birkeland is one. It can have four shallow drawers on the bottom and shelves above. I can't really find any reviews about the durability of the wardrobe units. I thought maybe some of you could let me know what you think. DH is not very handy but can assemble furniture. He is not confident about redesigning and modifying. I want something that works but still looks nice for when we use the room for company. Okay, I'd also like it to look nice when I'm using it instead of my space at home where the storage is not the greatest and everything ends up in a hodge podge frequently.
    Thanks for your thoughts,
    lots2do

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    30,826
    I think someone posted 2 Ikea units combined with their cutting board on top and it was aweome.I believe it was in the Mission Organization section of QB.

    Nope I just checked it was cubes from Home Depot and the title post was from Morelcabin under Look what I built today.
    Last edited by Tartan; 07-13-2013 at 09:48 AM.

  3. #3
    Super Member carolaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Behind my sewing machine
    Posts
    7,207
    Blog Entries
    4
    I love the table I purchased on line from them.

  4. #4
    Super Member quilter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ayr, Ontario
    Posts
    1,064
    Blog Entries
    326
    We are moving in a few weeks and I get to furnish a large sewing room. I will be using the Borgsjo cabinets in white with glass doors from Ikea for my fabric storage. I can fit 3 in a row on 1 wall, and 4 bookshelves from the same system on another wall. The Hemnes cabinets are really nice too, but they are 3 times the price. We had a PAX wardrobe in our bedroom and I liked it, but it is very tall and the top shelf was hard to reach. My DH can put anything together but the PAX wardrobe was difficult because it is so tall. It is not a one person job. Goo luck with your choice of cabinets.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Spanish Fort, AL (on the AL Gulf Coast)
    Posts
    236
    Google the group called ikeahackers - you'll get several ideas from the site. Another place I found to look for storage ideas is the photo site called flickr.com - this link takes you to a group called Operation: Sewing Room Organization

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/operati..._organization/

    You're bound to get some good ideas from these pictures. Hope this helps!!

  6. #6
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    I think Ikea furniture would be great in a sewing room!

  7. #7
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Ikea furniture IS terrific for a quilt room. I wanted white bookcases to cover one entire long wall - I bought 5 "Billy" bookcases and the end ones on each side have double glassed doors. The center one is skinny as it holds a ton of books. The bookcases are wonderful! Gives a nice organized look to the room and it matches the kitchen cabinets (out of the original kitchen) on the other long wall (bases & wall cabinets), which gives a nice clean, uniform look to the room. The walls are painted Antique Filoli (which is a deep, rich beige color) and all trim in the room is Dove White, which also matches the cabinetry. Wood floors and a nice carpet, and some antiques -- its the room I love the most in the entire house. Great value for the money!

  8. #8
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,723
    My sewing room is from IKEA. It's wonderful!!
    Attached Images Attached Images


    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,809
    Thank you all for the advice and the pictures too! I spent a good amount of time checking out the flicker pictures too. We are going to go back to IKEA to look at our options again soon. Last time was our first time there and it was pretty overwhelming. I am excited about the possibilities!

  10. #10
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    Just one piece of advice.. do layout your space on graph paper , before buying... I have seen good ideas gone bad .. because the scale of the selected pieces did not correspond with the "real" space. Make sure you take into account the door swings space.

  11. #11
    Super Member quiltnut4ever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SWFL
    Posts
    2,236
    Sewnsewer2 that is an awesome room. Here is the link on the qb regarding the cutting table that was used with Ikea products. My boyfriend and I will tackle this in the fall when its not as hot to work outside but Ikea is 2.5 hrs away from me so a lot of thinking has to go into this. Good luck tho!

  12. #12
    Super Member quiltnut4ever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SWFL
    Posts
    2,236

  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,809
    Yes, we'll be careful with measurements etc. That's good advice.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Jennalyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Stevensville, MD
    Posts
    477
    IKEA furniture is fabulous for sewing rooms. We purchased a table (right) and then an additional top-only that we placed on some cube storage units purchased from Kmart. It's wonderful because it's all sold separately!

    Janome 6600MC, Janome 10001MC, Singer 221 Featherweight, Singer 500A Rocketeer, Singer 66 Red Eye Treadle

  15. #15
    Super Member MissM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,582
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love IKEA when I lived in Germany that was my favorite place to shop. I miss that store so much!
    Friends are the most important ingredient in the recipe of life.

  16. #16
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,723
    Oh Jennalyn, I love your set up!
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  17. #17
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,723
    Quote Originally Posted by quiltnut4ever View Post
    Sewnsewer2 that is an awesome room. Here is the link on the qb regarding the cutting table that was used with Ikea products. My boyfriend and I will tackle this in the fall when its not as hot to work outside but Ikea is 2.5 hrs away from me so a lot of thinking has to go into this. Good luck tho!
    Thanks, the tall cabinet is not IKEA tho. My room looks different now because #1 it's a mess from working in there and #2 because I have a lot more stuff in there now. These pics were takes a few years ago.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,809
    Jennalyn,
    I remember when you posted that picture before. It's a great setup. Will have to check out the tables too, next time we go.

  19. #19
    Super Member carolaug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Behind my sewing machine
    Posts
    7,207
    Blog Entries
    4
    Name:  sewing room 5.jpg
Views: 1388
Size:  133.7 KBMy cutting table isfrom Ikea. had it shipped here.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Palm Desert, CA
    Posts
    100
    We put 3 PAX wardrobe units including doors (from IKEA) side by side in our laundry room. It looks great and the PAX units are very strong. We got extra shelves and brackets just in case we wanted to change the configuration of the shelves over time. That has really paid off. I wanted to be able to put standard plastic bins (like from Walmart) on each shelf, so I considered that when I decided how many shelves to get. We also put 2 drawers at the bottom of each unit, and that has been real handy too. The PAX units and shelves are so strong, they don't sag like other less expensive units.

    DH assembled it, easily, on living room floor and I helped carry it into the laundry room. We stood them up and then DH anchored them to each other (to hold them close to each other) and then to the wall (we live in earthquake country).

    We liked them so much, we went back and got more PAX units (without the doors this time) and put them in our guest room closet....yea!....more room for more fabric. Again we got extra shelves, just in case our needs changed, and sure enough, we have made changes over the last 5 years 2 or 3 times. Almost all the extra shelves are now in use.

    We had to drive 2 hours + to get to the nearest IKEA, so IKEA let us open all the packages to verify that there were no chipped or missing pieces. We did change out one shelf with a ding on its corner, and we discovered we were short a couple shelf brackets. So we were able to go home knowing everything was complete and in perfect condition.

    It looks beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone!

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Carlisle, PA
    Posts
    1,943
    I have been a huge fan of IKEA for nearly 30 years. My bedroom, guest room, both my daughter's rooms (they took with them when they flew the nest) and of course, my quilting room - ALL IKEA!! I truly believe it's the best value for my money. Billy Bookcases with glass doors, Expedit 12 cube wall system, Hemnes Bedroom dressers, even our sofa, mattresses, and Bedframes (one queen rattan and one full metal), not to mention all the wonderful fabrics IKEA sells! I'm fortunate to have an IKEA 40 minutes from my house here on Long Island. I swear they didn't pay me a dime to post this!!

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    478
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have Ikea bookcases, two tables side by side for my cutting tables with drawer units under the tables and I love them. I also have one of the bookshelves with the baskets for materials and I love that too. I put solid doors on the bottom half of the bookcases and use the top half for displays. I love going into a quilt store or see someone's sewing room with knick knacks. It makes it so much more personal and cute.

  23. #23
    Super Member btiny36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the Heart of grain field
    Posts
    1,792
    Blog Entries
    4
    Oh yes I'm a newbie to Ikea and I love love that store.

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Villa Park, Orange County - CA, California
    Posts
    24
    At my LQS they used Ikea units. THey put 2 together and laminated a top to them - under the laminate they put a metal sheet then topped it with the laminate - so now you can use magnets to hold your cloth down for cutting ect. Genius!

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Maine-ly Florida
    Posts
    3,809
    Quote Originally Posted by Alice PD View Post
    We put 3 PAX wardrobe units including doors (from IKEA) side by side in our laundry room. It looks great and the PAX units are very strong. We got extra shelves and brackets just in case we wanted to change the configuration of the shelves over time. That has really paid off. I wanted to be able to put standard plastic bins (like from Walmart) on each shelf, so I considered that when I decided how many shelves to get. We also put 2 drawers at the bottom of each unit, and that has been real handy too. The PAX units and shelves are so strong, they don't sag like other less expensive units.

    DH assembled it, easily, on living room floor and I helped carry it into the laundry room. We stood them up and then DH anchored them to each other (to hold them close to each other) and then to the wall (we live in earthquake country).

    We liked them so much, we went back and got more PAX units (without the doors this time) and put them in our guest room closet....yea!....more room for more fabric. Again we got extra shelves, just in case our needs changed, and sure enough, we have made changes over the last 5 years 2 or 3 times. Almost all the extra shelves are now in use.

    We had to drive 2 hours + to get to the nearest IKEA, so IKEA let us open all the packages to verify that there were no chipped or missing pieces. We did change out one shelf with a ding on its corner, and we discovered we were short a couple shelf brackets. So we were able to go home knowing everything was complete and in perfect condition.

    It looks beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone!
    Thank you so much, Alice, for your response. This was exactly what I was wondering about. We are waiting to hear from a company who puts in murphy beds and cabinets to see what they can do for us but I am still strongly considering this option as well.
    Have a good one!
    lots2do

    PS And thanks to everyone else who has also taken the time to respond to this post.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.